





5th World Water Forum

Parliamentary Process Preparatory Conference "Parliaments for Water"

Thursday 6 November 2008

Council of Europe (Room 5) Strasbourg, France

Programme

9:00	Opening Session
	Mr Alan Meale, Chairman, Committee on the Environment, Agriculture and Local and Regional Affairs, Parliamentary Assembly, Council of Europe
	Mr Loïc Fauchon, President of the World Water Council
	Mr Oktay Tabasaran , Secretary General of the 5 th World Water Forum
	Co-Chairs of the Preparatory Conference (Mr Jean-François Le Grand , Senator, France and Mr Mustafa Öztürk , Member of Parliament, Turkey)
	Co-Chairs of 5 th World Water Forum Parliamentary Process (Mr Pierre Victoria , Governor of the World Water Council, General Secretary of the French Water Society)
	Presentations
10:10	- Issue 1: Right to Water and Sanitation
	Mr Ashfaq Khalfan, NGO Center on Housing Rights and Eviction (COHRE)
	Mr Ali Riza Alaboyun, Member of Parliament, Turkey
	Mr David Ebong, Member of Parliament, Uganda
	Discussion
	- Issue 2: Global Changes
	Mr Henk Vanschaik, Co-operative Programme on Water and Climate, IHE-UNESCO
	Mr Mustafa Öztürk, Member of Parliament, Turkey
	Mrs Maureen Ballesteros, Member of Parliament, Costa Rica
	Discussion
12:30	Lunch

14:00	Presentations - Issue 3: Transboundary Waters Mrs Patricia Wouters, University of Dundee, United Kingdom Mr Osman Çoşkunoğlu, Member of Parliament, Turkey Mr Narcio Rodriguez, Member of Parliament, Brazil
	- Issue 4: Decentralization Policies Mr Edgardo Bilsky, United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG) Mr Yusuf Irbec, Member of Parliament, Turkey Mrs Cristina Gutierrez Cortines, Member of the European Parliament Discussion
16:15	Dialogue around Proposed Outputs - Lessons Learned from Existing Legislation Mr Alejandro Iza, International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN) - "Water Legislation Helpdesk" Mr Victor Ruffy, Secretary General, Solidarity Water Europe
17:00	Conclusions and Next Steps Co-Chairs of the Preparatory Conference: Mr Jean-François Le Grand , Senator, France and Mr Mustafa Öztürk , Member of Parliament, Turkey
18:45	Reception given by Mr Roland Ries , Senator-Mayor of Strasbourg (<i>Pavillon Joséphine, Parc de l'Organgerie</i>)

With the participation of

