PACE to assess all member states’ fulfillment of statutory obligations

The Assembly today decided to carry out country-by-country assessments of the extent to which all the Council of Europeís member states are honouring their statutory and other conventional obligations. In a new procedure, it launched a three-year cycle of reports, based on comparative information from all the Councilís bodies, beginning with Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France and Germany. These states are invited to sign or ratify Council of Europe conventions or, in some cases, join Council monitoring bodies.