Thorbjørn Jagland elected Secretary General of the Council of Europe

PACE today elected Thorbjørn Jagland (Norway) Secretary General of the Organisation for a five-year term. In the first round of the election, Thorbjørn Jagland obtained 165 votes (an absolute majority) and Wlodzimierz Cimoszewicz (Poland) 80 votes. There were 245 votes cast. Mr Jagland has been President of the Norwegian Parliament (Storting) since 2005 and Member of Parliament for Buskerud County since 1993. Thorbjørn Jagland will be sworn in as Secretary General on 1 October 2009.