PACE delegation makes pre-electoral visit to Turkey

A seven-member delegation of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE), led by Olena Sotnyk (Ukraine, ALDE), will carry out a pre-electoral mission to Turkey on 29-30 May, to assess the election campaign and the preparations for the early presidential and parliamentary elections of 24 June 2018.

In Ankara, the delegation is due to meet the Speaker of the Grand National Assembly, the Turkish delegation to PACE, presidential candidates (or their representatives), as well as leaders and representatives of the main political parties in the early parliamentary elections.

Talks are also scheduled with the Chairman and members of the Supreme Board of Elections (SBE), representatives of the Radio and Television Supreme Council (RTSC) and representatives of the media, NGOs and the diplomatic community.

The delegation will issue a statement at the end of the visit.

A full 33-member delegation from the Assembly will return to the country to observe the voting.

Members of the delegation:

Olena Sotnyk (Ukraine, ALDE), Head of the delegation
Nicole Duranton (France, EPP/CD)
Maryvonne Blondin (France, SOC)
Lord David Blencathra (United Kingdom, EC)
Nikolaj Villumsen (Denmark, UEL)
Adele Gambaro (Italy, FDG)

PACE co-rapporteur for the monitoring of Turkey:
Marianne Mikko (Estonia, SOC)