



SECRETARIAT

AS/Cult (2015) CB 07 8 December 2015

To the members of the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media

Synopsis of the meeting held in Paris on 3 and 4 December 2015

The Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media, meeting in Paris with Ms Adele Gambaro (Italy, ALDE) and Ms Vesna Marjanović (Serbia, SOC) in the Chair,

• on Thursday 3 December 2015 from 9 a.m. to 7.30 p.m., as regards:

- **Towards a framework of competences for democratic citizenship** (Rapporteur: Mr Jacques Legendre, France, EPP/CD): unanimously adopted a draft resolution and a draft recommendation and unanimously approved a report;

- Access to school and education for all children (Rapporteur: Mr Gvozden Srećko Flego, Croatia, SOC): unanimously adopted a draft resolution and unanimously approved a report;

- **Parliamentary scrutiny over corruption: parliamentary co-operation with investigative media** (*Rapporteur: Ms Gülsün Bilgehan, Turkey, SOC*): held a hearing with Ms Helen Darbishire, Executive Director, Access Info Europe, Madrid, Ms Margo Smit, Ombudsman at the Dutch public broadcaster NOS, Journalism teacher at the State University of Groningen and Mr Drew Sullivan, Editor of Organized Crime and Corruption Reporting Project (OCCRP), Sarajevo;

- Intellectual property rights in the digital era (Rapporteur: Mr Axel E. Fischer, Germany, EPP/CD): considered a report by Professor Silke von Lewinski, Max Planck Institute, Munich, and held an exchange of views with her and Ms Francine Cunningham, Executive Director, European Newspaper Publishers' Association (ENPA), Brussels;

- **Freedom of speech on the internet: promoting a uniform approach** (*Rapporteur: Ms Adele Gambaro, Italy, ALDE*): held an exchange of views with Mr Ricardo Gutierrez, General Secretary, European Federation of Journalists (EFJ), Brussels, and Ms Francine Cunningham, Executive Director, European Newspaper Publishers' Association (ENPA), Brussels;

- References to the committee and appointment of rapporteurs:

- appointed Ms Eleonora Cimbro (Italy, SOC) rapporteur on "Youth against corruption" (Doc. 13845), subject to her declaration of no conflict of interest;
- appointed Mr Mogens Jensen (Danemark, SOC) rapporteur on "Draft Council of Europe Convention on Cinematographic Co-production (revised)" (Doc. 13915) and took note of his written declaration of no conflict of interest;
- appointed Mr Volodymyr Ariev (Ukraine, EPP/CD) rapporteur for opinion on "Ending cyberdiscrimination and online hate" (Doc. 13828) and heard his declaration of no conflict of interest;

• took note of the consultation by the Bureau on a possible follow-up to be given to the motion on *"How to encourage the migration of international students across Europe"* (Doc. 13893) and considered as not necessary to prepare a new report on this issue;

- List of membership of the sub-committees: approved the changes in the membership of its sub-committees;¹

- Committee work programme:

Reports on recent events: was informed by:

- Ms Adele Gambaro (Italy, ALDE), Chairperson of the committee, on the conference "How to protect Cultural Heritage" in Milano (4 October);
- Mr Gvozden Srećko Flego (Croatia, SOC), rapporteur on "Attacks against journalists and media freedom in Europe", and Ms Adele Gambaro (Italy, ALDE), rapporteur on "Freedom of speech on the internet: promoting a uniform approach" on the Council of Europe Conference "Freedom of expression: new battlefronts" in Strasbourg (13-14 October 2015);
- Mr Gvozden Srećko Flego (Croatia, SOC), rapporteur on "Access to school and education for all children", on the meeting of the UNESCO Education Commission in the framework of the 38th UNESCO General Conference in Paris (4-6 November 2015);
- Ms Vesna Marjanović (Serbia, SOC), rapporteur on "Culture and democracy" on the 14th Assembly of experts of the Council of Europe on the Compendium of Cultural Policies and Trends in Europe in Wroclaw, Poland (12-13 November 2015);

Extension of reference: decided to ask the Assembly Bureau for an extension of the reference of the report on *"Culture and democracy"* until 30 June 2016;

- Working method, priorities and planning of committee and sub-committee activities for 2016: considered a memorandum by the Chairperson of the committee;

• on Friday 4 December 2015 from 9 a.m. to 12 a.m., as regards:

- **The libraries and museums of Europe in times of change** (Rapporteur: Lady Diana Eccles, United Kingdom, EC): unanimously adopted a draft resolution and unanimously approved a report;

- **Educational and cultural networks of communities living abroad** (Rapporteur: Mr Pierre-Yves Le Borgn', France, SOC): considered a preliminary draft report; decided to ask the Assembly Bureau for an extension of the reference until 30 June 2017; approved a fact finding visit by the rapporteur to Portugal, to be organised in 2016;

- **Council of Europe Museum Prize** (*Rapporteur: Ms Vesna Marjanović, Serbia, SOC*): held an exchange of views with Mr. José Gameiro, Chairperson of the Judging Panel for the Museum Prize and decided to award the 2016 Museum Prize to the European Solidarity Centre (Gdańsk, Poland);

- References to the committee and appointment of rapporteurs:

• appointed Sir Roger Gale (United Kingdom, EC) rapporteur for opinion on *"Preventing the radicalisation of children by fighting the root causes"* (Doc. 13778) and heard his declaration of no conflict of interest;

- **Replies from the Committee of Ministers**: took note that there was no reply from the Committee of Ministers;

¹ Sub-Committee on Education, Youth and Sport: Mr Sinuhe WALLINHEIMO (Finland, EPP/CD) becomes member.

- **Next meetings:** decided to hold its next meetings as follows:

Committee meetings:

Strasbourg, 1st part-session (25-29 January 2016) Paris, 14 March 2016 *(tbc)* Strasbourg, 2nd part-session (18-22 April 2016) Paris, 1 June 2016 *(tbc)* Strasbourg, 3rd part-session (20-24 June 2016) Rome, 19-20 (or 12-13) September 2016 *(tbc)* Strasbourg, 4th part-session (10-14 October 2016) Paris, 8-9 December 2016 *(tbc)*

Roberto Fasino, Rüdiger Dossow, Dana Karanjac, Angela Garabagiu

cc: Secretary General of the Assembly Director General, Director and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe