



SECRETARIAT

AS/Pro (2015) CB 06 15 December 2015

To the members of the Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs

Synopsis of the meeting held in Paris on 10 December 2015

The Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs, meeting in Paris on 10 December 2015, with Mr Haluk Koç (Turkey, SOC) in the Chair, as regards:

– **Introduction of sanctions against parliamentarians** (*Rapporteur: Mr Arcadio Díaz Tejera, Spain, SOC*): approved a report, adopted a draft resolution as amended and a draft recommendation, and decided to invite the Bureau to put the report on the draft agenda of the January 2016 part-session of the Assembly;

- Challenge on procedural grounds of the still unratified credentials of the parliamentary delegation of the United Kingdom: held an exchange of views, considered and unanimously adopted an opinion to the President of the Assembly, in accordance with Rule 7.2 of the Assembly's Rules of Procedure, concluding that the credentials of the UK delegation should be ratified;

- Parliamentary immunity: challenges to the scope of the privileges and immunities enjoyed by members of the Parliamentary Assembly (Rapporteur: Ms Liliana Palihovici, Republic of Moldova, *EPP/CD*): considered an introductory memorandum prepared by the rapporteur, held a hearing with the participation of Mr Nicolae Esanu, member of the European Commission for Democracy through Law (Venice Commission) and Deputy Minister of Justice of the Republic of Moldova, and invited the rapporteur to present a preliminary draft report at a forthcoming meeting;

- Challenges to the co-operation of member States with the Assembly as regards the free movement of Assembly members: decided to postpone consideration of the item to its next meeting;

– Effective representation and participation in the Parliamentary Assembly of opposition parliamentarians in the member States (Rapporteur: Mr Pedro Agramunt, Spain, EPP/CD): decided to postpone consideration of the item to its next meeting;

 Motion for a resolution on "The lack of institutional framework to monitor conflicts of interest of Committee chairs: the case of Mr Thierry Mariani" – opinion requested by the President of the Parliamentary Assembly: decided to postpone consideration of the item to its next meeting;

- Work programme:
 - appointed Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (United Kingdom, EC) rapporteur on *"Follow-up to Resolution 1903 (2012): promoting and strengthening transparency, accountability and integrity of Parliamentary Assembly members"* and heard from him a declaration on the absence of any conflict of interest;

• agreed to ask the Bureau of the Assembly for an extension of reference until 31 December 2016 for the report on *"The nature of the mandate of members of the Parliamentary Assembly"* (rapporteur: Ms Nataša Vučković, Serbia, SOC);

• approved the terms of reference of the sub-committee on ethics to be formally set up at the January 2016 part-session;

- Other business:
 - took note of an information memorandum on the organisation of a high-level Conference on "National parliaments and the ethic of responsibility" in 2016;

• invited the Secretariat to prepare a memorandum on the rules applicable to election procedures in the plenary Assembly, for consideration at its next meeting;

• expressed its gratitude to its members MM Bugnon, Díaz Tejera and Gross, who will leave the Assembly, and MM Chope, Clappison, Denemeç, Franken, de Vries and Ms Wilcox, who already left the Assembly;

- Seminar on "Funding of political parties and electoral campaigns: legislation and control **mechanisms**", 10-11 December 2015 (organised in co-operation with the Parliamentary Project Support Division of the Parliamentary Assembly): took part in the seminar;

Next meeting: decided to hold its next meeting in Strasbourg, during the Assembly's 1st part-session (25-29 January 2016).

Valérie Clamer, Kateryna Gayevska

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly Director General, Director and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations

Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe