Parliamentary **Assembly Assemblée** parlementaire



Doc. 11188 20 February 2007

Strengthening co-operation with the Maghreb Countries

Motion for a resolution presented by Mrs Durrieu and others

This motion has not been discussed in the Assembly and commits only the members who have signed it

At the Warsaw Summit held in May 2005, the Heads of State and Government of the Council of Europe member states declared themselves committed to a new dialogue between Europe and its neighbouring regions – including the southern Mediterranean – based on universal human rights and aiming at promoting awareness, understanding, reconciliation and tolerance, as well as at preventing conflicts and ensuring integration and the cohesion of society.

The Maghreb countries, namely Algeria, Morocco and Tunisia, are among Europe closest neighbours, both from a geographical viewpoint and because of many historical, cultural, economic and social links.

To varying degrees, these countries find inspiration in European experience and institutional models when it comes to their political evolution, and have started a series of reforms. Democratic values which are embodied in the Council of Europe have more and more attraction for these societies in transition.

The Assembly has a solid backgroung with parliamentary contacts with Maghreb countries on a number of specific issues.

Besides, the Assembly has played a leading role in the process of democratic transition of East European countries, and continues to work for the strengthening of democracy in Europe.

The Assembly must make full use of this double experience in order to assist Maghreb countries on their path of reforms towards more democratic political systems, stronger institutions, consolidation of the rule of law and respect of human rights.

The Assembly resolves to consider modalities for an intensified dialogue and co-operation with Parliaments of Maghreb countries in order to contribute to democratic transformation in these countries.

Signed (see overleaf)

F - 67075 Strasbourg Cedex, tel: +33 3 88 41 20 00, fax: +33 3 88 41 27 76, http://assembly.coe.int, e-mail: assembly@coe.int

Doc. 11188

Signed¹:

DURRIEU Josette, France, SOC AGRAMUNT Pedro, Spain, EPP/CD ALIGRUDIĆ Miloš, Serbia, EPP/CD CORTAJARENA ITURRIOZ Elvira, Spain, SOC de PUIG, Lluís Maria, Spain, SOC HENRY Jean-Pol, Belgium, SOC IWIŃSKI Tadeusz, Poland, SOC LINDBLAD, Göran, Sweden, EPP/CD Lord RUSSELL-JOHNSTON, United Kingdom, ALDE MacSHANE, Denis, United Kingdom, SOC MERCAN, Murat, Turkey, EPP/CD PUCHE, Gabino, Spain, EPP/CD ZAŠOV, Blagoj, "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia", SOC

SOC: Socialist Group EPP/CD: Group of the European People's Party ALDE: Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe EDG: European Democratic Group UEL: Group of the Unified European Left NR: not registered in a group