Parliamentary **Assembly Assemblée** parlementaire



TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON CULTURE, SCIENCE AND EDUCATION

SYNOPSIS N° 2003/13

30 January 2003

The Committee on Culture, Science and Education, meeting in Strasbourg with Mr Malachowski, senior member present, and then successively Mr de Puig and Baroness Hooper in the Chair:

- "elected" Mr de Puig Chairman, Baroness Hooper first Vice-Chairman, Mr Prisacaru second Vice-Chairperson and Mr Smorawinski third Vice-Chairman;
- reconstituted its Sub-Committees as follows:

Sub-Committee on the Cultural Heritage: Braga (alt.:Domingues), Castro (alt.:Agudo), Dalgaard, Fehr (alt.:Lachat), Galoyan, Haack (alt.:Lucyga), Högmark, Hooper (alt.:Walter), Huseynov R, Katseli (alt.:Damanaki), Kontogiannopoulos, Legendre (alt.:Lengagne), Libicki (alt.:Gadzinowski), Livaneli, Lydeka, Malgieri (alt.:Selva), Melandri, Milotinova, Muttonen, Nachbar (alt.:Kucheida), O'Hara (alt.:Banks), Ouzky, Petrova-Mitevska, Podgorski, Prisacaru (alt.:Baciu), Sudarenkov, Theodorou, de Puig (ex officio)

Sub-committee on Science and Ethics: Aliyev B., Asciak, Berceanu, Damanaki, Duka-Zolyomi (alt.:Devinsky), Fernandez-Capel, Galchenko, (alt.:Korobeynikov), Gentil, Gierek, Gündüz Irfan, Mesquita, (alt.:Braga), Mezihorak (alt.:Jarab), Selva, Skarbøvik, Tiuri (alt.:Isohookana-Asunmaa), Lengagne, Rybak, Varela I Sera, Westerlund Panke, Wodarg, de Puig (*Ex officio*)

Sub-Committee on the Media: Abbasov (alt.:R. Huseynov), Ahlqvist, Apostoli, Berceanu (alt.:Baciu), Buzatu (alt.:Ionescu), Castro (alt.:Varela i Sera), Domingues (alt.:Medeiros-Ferreira), Eymer (alt.:Letzgus), Gadzinowski (alt.:Podgorski), Hegyi, Isohookana-Asunmaa, Jarab (alt.:Mezihorak), Katseli (alt.:Kontogiannopoulos), Kucheida, Labucka, Libicki, Lucyga (alt.:Wodarg), Malgieri, Milotinova (alt.:Pavlov), Mooney, Muttonen, Rakhansky, Reimann, Samoilovska-Cvetanova, Sfyriou, Theodorou, Walter (alt.:Russell-Johnston) de Puig (ex officio)

Sub-Committee on Youth and Sport: Agudo, Alvarez-Arenas, Banks (alt.:O'Hara), Barbieri (alt.:Tirelli), Calmes, Clivetti, Curdova (alt.:Ouzky), Damanaki (alt.:Sfyriou), Dees, Fedorov, Galoyan, Schneider (alt.:Géveaux), Gostev, Gündüz S., Jakic, Letzgus (alt.:Siebert), Medeiros-Ferreira, Mooney, Ohlsson, Pavlov, Pisarenko, Reimann, Russell-Johnston (alt.:Billingham), Smorawinski, de Puig (ex officio)

 discussed and took position on 21 amendments and three sub-amendments tabled to the draft recommandation on freedom of expression in the media in Europe (Rapporteur: Mrs Isohookana-Asunmaa, Finland, LDR);

./.

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly
The Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly
Secretaries of National Delegations to the Assembly
Secretaries of Political Groups of the Assembly

Directors General
Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General
Secretary of the Committee of Ministers
Director of Communication and Research
Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe

- adopted unanimously an amendment to include in the draft resolution on cultural cooperation between Europe and the south Mediterranean countries the substance of the draft order adopted by the Committee but which had been ruled out of order (Rapporteur: Mr de Puig, Spain, SOC);
- adopted unanimously an opinion and amendment to the draft recommendation on globalisation and sustainable development presented by Mr Legendre (France, EDG);
- confirmed its decision to hold a meeting with representatives of Unesco, OECD, the World Bank, the European Union and the Council of Europe on priorities in the field of education on the occasion of the Assembly April part-session;
- decided to ask the Bureau to revise its decision that no further action should follow the motion for a recommendation on "Council of Europe contribution to the Higher Education Area", tabled by Mr Varela i Sera, and others;
- discussed its work programme for 2003;
- designated representatives to forthcoming meetings:
 - = MM. de Puig and Legendre : Informal Ministerial Colloquy on intercultural dialogue and cultural diversity (Strasbourg, 17-18 February),
 - = Mr Smorawisnki : CDDS meeting (Strasbourg, 27-28 February) ;
- decided to hold its next meeting in Paris (Assemblée Nationale) on Monday 3 March 2003

The Sub-Committee on the Cultural Heritage meeting in Strasbourg on 30 January 2003:

- reelected Mr Legendre Chairman;
- reelected Mr O'Hara Vice-Chairman;
- decided to hold its next meeting in Paris (Sénat) on 28 March 2003.

The Sub-Committee on Science and Ethics, meeting in Strasbourg on 30 January 2003:

- elected Mr Varela i Sera Chairman:
- designated Mr Tiuri Vice-Chairman;
- decided to hold its next meeting on 3 or 4 March 2003 in Paris

The Sub-Committee on the Media, meeting in Strasbourg on 30 January 2003:

- reelected Mr Jarab Chairman;
- reelected Heygi Vice-Chairman;
- decided to hold its next meeting on 3 or 4 March 2003 in Paris.

The Sub-Committee on Youth and Sport, meeting in Strasbourg on 30 January 2003:

- reelected Mr Banks Chairman;
- elected Mrs Agudo Vice-Person;
- decided to hold its next meeting on 3 or 4 March 2003 in Paris.

Christopher Grayson, João Ary, Bonnie Theophilova-Permaul