## Parliamentary **Assembly Assemblée** parlementaire



## TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON CULTURE, SCIENCE AND EDUCATION

## **SYNOPSIS N° 2003/39**

31 MARCH 2003

**The Sub-Committee on the Cultural Heritage** (Committee on Culture, Science and Education) meeting in Paris on 28 March 2003 under the chairmanship of Mr Legendre

- held a colloquy on the **protection of African cultural objects**, organised together with the French Delegation to the Assembly and under the high patronage of President Jacques Chirac, with working sessions chaired by Mr de Puig, Baroness Hooper and Mr O'Hara, and including the participation of:
- Mr Abdou Diouf, former President of Senegal and Secretary General of the International Organisation of the Francophonie,
- Mr Ouedraogo, Burkina Faso Minister of Culture, Arts and Tourism,
- Representatives of African museums, universities and heritage organisations (Mr Godonou of the Benin School for African Heritage, Mrs Gaultier of the Senghor University Alexandria, Mr Abungu of Kenyan national museums),
- Representatives of European museums with major African collections (Mrs Bouttiaux of the Africa Museum Tervuren, Mr Martin Director of the Quai Branly Museum Paris, and Professor Mack Keeper in the British Museum London),
- Representatives of French police and customs services (MM Poinas, Darties and Bock),
- Representatives of international organisations (including Mr Perot President of Icom, Mr de Guichen of Iccrom, Mr Eloundou of the African programme unit of Unesco's World Heritage Centre, and Mr Ballester Director of Culture of the Council of Europe),
- Me Chazal (France), giving the point of view of European collectors and Mrs Chinwe Chukuogo-Roy (Nigeria), that of contemporary African artists,
- took note of a written declaration on the preservation of **archaeological sites and cultural property in Iraq** initiated by Mr Legendre
- decided to hold its next meeting in Strasbourg at 2 pm on Thursday 3 April 2003

## Christopher Grayson

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly
The Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly
Secretaries of National Delegations to the Assembly
Secretaries of Political Groups of the Assembly

Directors General
Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General
Secretary of the Committee of Ministers
Director of Communication and Research

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe