## Parliamentary **Assembly Assemblée** parlementaire



## TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON CULTURE, SCIENCE AND EDUCATION

## **Synopsis** N° 2004/02

12 JANUARY 2004

The **Committee on Culture**, **Science and Education** meeting in Paris on 9 January 2004 with Mr. de Puig in the Chair:

- approved a report on Public service broadcasting (Rapporteur: Mr Mooney, Ireland, LDR), adopted a draft recommendation and took note that it was proposed for debate at the January 2004 Assembly part-session;
- held an exchange of views with Mr Mazza, Director of School, Out of-School and Higher Education (DG IV) on the activities of the Council of Europe in the field of education;
- held a first exchange of views on *Education for Europe* on the basis of a preliminary draft report presented by Mr. Prisacaru (Romania, SOC);
- had further discussion on *Combating terrorism through culture* (Rapporteur: Mr. Sudarenkov, Russia, SOC) and decided to support a request for an urgent debate on combating terrorism at the January 2004 part-session and to ask to present an opinion thereto.;
- decided to ask the Bureau to propose the reference of the motion for a recommendation on the establishment of the Centre for European Nations Remembrance under the auspices of the Council of Europe (Doc. 9945) to the Committee for an opinion;
- was informed by Mr Jarab on the World Summit on the Information Society /IPU parliamentary panel (Geneva, 11 December 2003);
- confirmed the following rapporteurs:
  - = Baroness Hooper, UK, SOC, on privatisation of cultural heritage (Doc. 9788),
  - = Mr Mooney, Ireland, LDR, on investigation of the possible monopolization of the electronic media and abuse of power in Italy (Doc. 9947),
- was informed by Mr O'Hara on the meeting of the Sub-Committee on Cultural Heritage (Paris, 4 December 2003) and confirmed the decisions taken there;
- decided in principle to meet in Barcelona on 27-29 May 2004 (subject to an invitation by the Spanish delegation and the authorisation of the Bureau);
- decided to hold its next meeting in Strasbourg during the Assembly January 2004 part-session.

Christopher Grayson, João Ary and Bonnie Theophilova

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly
The Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly
Secretaries of National Delegations to the Assembly
Secretaries of Political Groups of the Assembly

Directors General
Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General
Secretary of the Committee of Ministers
Director of Communication and Research

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe