## Parliamentary **Assembly Assemblée** parlementaire



## TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON CULTURE, SCIENCE AND EDUCATION

## Synopsis N° 2004/099

**21 SEPTEMBER 2004** 

The **Sub-Committee on Youth and Sport** (Committee on Culture, Science and Education), meeting in Poznań (Poland) on 16-17 September 2004 with Lord Russell-Johnston in the Chair:

- was welcomed in the Academy of Physical Education by Mr Rychlewski, Rector of the Academy;
- held exchanges of views with teachers, participants in the Socrates/Erasmus exchange programmes and institutional coordinators from European university co-partners of the Academy of Physical Education on the following subjects:
  - = training systems for teachers and trainers in physical education in Poland, introduced by Dr Michal Bronikowski,
  - = what is new in doping in sport, introduced by Prof. dr. hab. Jerzy Smorawiński;
  - = education for leisure, introduced by Ass. Prof. Lech Erdmann;
- took part on the Seminar on traditional sports in Poland in the Maria Magdalena High School, introduced by Prof Wojciech Lipoński, and attended demonstrations of:
  - = holed net volleyball,
  - = shooting at the cap,
  - = the wooden roller,
  - = chapel,
  - = peasant's skittles,
  - = Polish baseball;
- was informed on progress on the report on questionable investment in high level football (Rapporteur: Mr Reimann, Switzerland, LDR) and expressed an interest in holding a hearing on the subject with UEFA;
- designated Mr Smorawiński to the 13<sup>th</sup> European Conference of Ministers of Sport (Budapest, 13-14 October 2004); felt that it would be inappropriate for the incumbent Minister of Sport of Belarus to attend the Conference and asked the Chairman of the full committee to write to the President of the Assembly to this effect;
- pursued discussion of its work programme on the basis of a proposal presented by the Chairman;
- was informed by Mr Goutry of the European Historical Cities Show-Jumping Trophy (2005-2007);
- left it to the chairman to decide on the date and place of the next meeting.

João Ary

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly
The Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly
Secretaries of National Delegations to the Assembly
Secretaries of Political Groups of the Assembly

Directors General
Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General
Secretary of the Committee of Ministers
Director of Communication and Research