

COUNCIL CONSEIL
OF FUROPE DE L'EUROPE

http://assembly.coe.int

SECRETARIAT

AS/Pol-AS/Cult-AS/Soc (2012) CB 01 4 October 2012

To the members of the Committee on Political Affairs and Democracy the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media the Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development

Synopsis of the joint meeting held in Strasbourg on 1st October 2012

The Committee on Political Affairs and Democracy, the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media, and the Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development, meeting in Strasbourg on 1st October 2012 with Mr Gvozden Srećko Flego (Croatia, SOC), Mr Pietro Marcenaro (Italy, SOC) and Ms Liliane Maury Pasquier (Switzerland, SOC) in the chair,

as regards:

- The North-South Centre and the Arab countries in transition.

held an exchange of views with:

- Ms Gabriella Battaini-Dragoni, Deputy Secretary General of the Council of Europe,
- Ms Deborah Bergamini (Italy, EPP/CD), Chairperson of the Executive Committee of the North-South Centre:
- Ambassador Luis Filipe Castro Mendes, Permanent Representative of Portugal to the Council of Europe, Chairperson of the Committee of Ministers' Rapporteur Group "Education, Culture, Sport, Youth and Environment" (GR-C);

took note of the intention of the three chairpersons to submit a proposal for follow up action to the Bureau of the Parliamentary Assembly, probably in the form of a draft declaration on "The North-South Centre and the Arab countries in transition".

Despina Chatzivassiliou, Roberto Fasino, Tanja Kleinsorge

cc: Secretary General of the Assembly

Director General, Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly

Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations

Secretary General of the Congress

Secretary to the Committee of Ministers

Directors General

Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe

Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights

Director of Communication

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe