



SECRETARIAT

AS/Cult (2015) CB 04 4 June 2015

To the members of the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media

Synopsis of the meeting held in Paris on 2 June 2015

The Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media, meeting in Paris with Ms Adele Gambaro (Italy, ALDE) in the Chair,

- decided to declassify the *addendum to the draft minutes* of the meeting held in Strasbourg during the April 2015 part-session;

- held an **exchange of views** with Ms Anne Brasseur, President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, with the participation of Ms Gabriella Battaini-Dragoni, Deputy Secretary General of the Council of Europe;

- paid tribute to Mr Charles Kennedy (United Kingdom, ALDE), who had passed away on 1 June 2015;

- **Freedom of religion and living together in a democratic society** (Rapporteur: Mr Rafael Huseynov, Azerbaijan, ALDE): considered a preliminary draft report;

- **Rethinking the anti-doping strategy** (Rapporteur: Mr André Schneider, France, EPP/CD): considered a preliminary draft report and held an exchange of views with the participation of:

- Ms Gabriella Battaini-Dragoni, Deputy Secretary General of the Council of Europe
- Mr Martin Gibbs, Director General of the Union Cycliste internationale (UCI)
- Mr Olivier Niggli, Legal Director of the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA)
- Dr Richard Budgett, Medical and Scientific Director, International Olympic Committee (IOC)
- Colonel Nicolas Duvinage, Deputy Head to the Central Office on the Fight against Threats to Environmental and Public Health (OCLAESP, France);

- Increasing co-operation against cyber-terrorism and other large-scale attacks on the Internet (Rapporteur: Mr Hans Franken, the Netherlands, EPP/CD): in the absence of the rapporteur, adopted a draft resolution and a draft recommendation and approved a report;

- **Media responsibility and media ethics in a changing media environment** (Rapporteur: *Mr Volodymyr Ariev, Ukraine, EPP/CD)*: unanimously adopted a draft resolution and a draft recommendation and approved a report;

- **Educational and cultural networks of communities living abroad** (Rapporteur: Mr Pierre-Yves Le Borgn', France, SOC): held an exchange of views with the participation of:

- Mr Hermano Sanches Ruivo, Delegate Counsellor to the Deputy Mayor responsible for European Affairs, Paris 14th district
- Ms Gabriela Puchwein, Vice-President of the Association "Entraide Allemande en France"
- Ms Gül Ilbay-Leclerc, Vice-President of the Turkish association "A Ta Turquie";

- **Culture and democracy** (*Rapporteur: Ms Vesna Marjanović, Serbia, SOC*): held an exchange of views with the graffiti artist, Shuck One, Paris;

- **Sport for all: a bridge to equality, integration and social inclusion** (Rapporteur: Ms Carmen Quintanilla, Spain, EPP/CD): considered a memorandum and held an exchange of views with:

- Ms Virginie Rozière (France, S&D), Member of the European Parliament and Vice-President of the European Parliament Sport Intergroup
- Mr Mickaël Heidmann, PhD in Sports Science at the University of Strasbourg;

- **References to the committee and appointment of rapporteurs**: appointed Mr Valeri Jablianov (Bulgaria, SOC) Rapporteur on "*Draft Council of Europe Convention on an Integrated Safety, Security and Service Approach at Football Matches and Other Sports Events*" (Doc. 13752), subject to his declaration of absence of conflict of interest;

- **Replies from the Committee of Ministers**: took note of the reply from the Committee of Ministers (Doc. 13785) to Recommendation 2054 (2014) on *"Good governance and enhanced quality in education"* and decided to ask the rapporteur, Mr Paolo Corsini (Italy, SOC), to examine the reply and prepare a short analysis of this reply with proposals of follow-up to be given to be discussed by the Sub-Committee on Education, Youth and Sport at its next meeting, and to report back to the Committee in due course;

- List of membership of the sub-committees: approved the changes in the membership of its Sub-committees;¹

- Committee work programme:

Designation of representatives for forthcoming events: designated:

- Alexander, The Earl of Dundee (United Kingdom, EC), Rapporteur on "Promoting city diplomacy in the field of culture", to attend the workshop entitled "C2C – City to city cooperation" organised by the Council of Europe Centre of Expertise for Local Government Reform (DG II) in Dubrovnik, Croatia (16 July 2015), with no costs for the Assembly;
- Ms Vesna Marjanović (Serbia, SOC), Rapporteur on "Council of Europe Museum Prize", to attend the European Museum Forum workshop entitled "Museums as generators of development" at the Baksi Museum (winner of the 2014 Council of Europe Museum Prize), Turkey (24-25 July 2015), subject to the availability of funds;

- World Forum for Democracy (18-20 November 2015): took note that Mr Paolo Corsini (Italy, SOC), Ms Adele Gambaro (Italy, ALDE), Mr Francesco Maria Giro (Italy, EPP/CD) and Ms Ioanneta Kavvadia (Greece, UEL) would be interested in attending the Forum and agreed to ask for their designation by the PACE Bureau as members of the ad hoc committee; decided to revert to this item at its next meeting;

- **Next meetings:** decided to hold its next meetings as follows:

Strasbourg, 3rd part-session (22-26 June 2015) Strasbourg, 4th part-session (28 September – 2 October 2015) Paris, 3-4 December 2015

¹ Sub-Committee on Culture, Diversity and Heritage: Mr Viktor Vovk (Ukraine, EC) becomes a member ;

Sub-Committee on Media and Information Society: Mr Niklas Karlsson (Sweden, SOC) and Ms Monica Haider (Sweden, SOC) withdraw from the Sub-Committee; Ms Ioanneta Kavvadia (Greece, UEL) becomes a member and Mr Georgios Pantzas (Greece, UEL) becomes an alternate;

Sub-Committee on Education, Youth and Sport: Mr Andries Gryffroy (Belgium, NR) and Mr Valeri Jablianov (Bulgaria, SOC) become members.

Sub-committee meetings:

Sub-Committee on Media and Information Society: Regional conference on the safety of journalists at the Ukrainian Parliament in Kyiv, Ukraine, on 12 June 2015

Sub-Committee on Culture, Diversity and Heritage: Limassol, Cyprus, 27 October 2015.

Roberto Fasino, Rüdiger Dossow, Dana Karanjac

cc: Secretary General of the Assembly Director General, Director and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe