

SECRETARIAT

**AS/Cult/MIS (2016) CB 06** 6 July 2016

## To the members of the Sub-Committee on Media and Information Society of the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media

## Synopsis of the meeting held in Berlin on 4 July 2016

**The Sub-Committee on Media and Information Society** (of the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media), meeting in the German Parliament (Bundestag) in Berlin on 4 July 2016 from 9 a.m. to 5.30 p.m., with **Ms Gülsün BILGEHAN** (Turkey, SOC) in the Chair:

participated in the regional parliamentary conference on *media freedom as a cornerstone for democratic elections* organised within the Eastern Partnership parliamentary co-operation framework, and heard statements by:

- Mr Gernot ERLER, Member of the German Parliament, Special Representative of the Federal Government for the OSCE Chairmanship 2016 and Government Coordinator for Russia, Central Asia and the Eastern Partnership countries, former State Secretary in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Germany,
- Mr Thomas MARKERT, Director, Secretary of the Venice Commission of the Council of Europe,
- Mr Jens SCHÖNE, Deputy Commissioner of Berlin for the files of the former "Stasi" (state security agency of East Germany),
- Ms Nune HOVHANNISYAN, Member of the Central Election Commission, Armenia,
- Mr Rashid YUSIFBAYLI, Head of International Relations Department, Central Election Commission, Azerbaijan,
- Mr Gennady GRITSKEVICH, Chairperson, Standing Commission on State Building, Local Government and Regulations of the House of Representatives, National Assembly of the Republic of Belarus,
- Ms Lidziya YARMOSHYNA, Chairperson, Central Commission on Holding Elections and Republican Referenda, Belarus,
- Ms Tatsiana KARATKEVICH, Co-founder of "Tell the Truth" campaign and member of the Social Democratic Party, Belarus,
- Mr Andrei BASTUNETS, Chairperson, Belarus Association of Journalists, Minsk,
- Mr Ramaz SAMKHARADZE, Independent Association of Georgian Journalists, Tbilisi,
- Mr Vladimir HOTINEANU, Chairperson, Committee on Culture, Education, Research, Youth, Sport and Media, Parliament of the Republic of Moldova,
- Mr Adrian LEBEDINSCHI, Vice-Chairperson, Committee on Culture, Education, Research, Youth, Sport and Media, Parliament of the Republic of Moldova,
- Mr Oleksandr CHERNENKO, Co-Chairperson, Sub-Committee on Elections and Referenda, Parliament of Ukraine,
- Mr Ruslan SYDOROVYCH, Member of the Committee on Legal Policy and Justice, Parliament of Ukraine.
- Ms Oksana ROMANIUK, Executive Director, Institute of Mass Information, Kyiv, Ukraine,
- Mr Andrea RIGONI (Italy, ALDE), Rapporteur on the situation in Belarus of the PACE Committee on Political Affairs and Democracy,

- Mr Nicos ALIVIZATOS, Member of the Venice Commission of the Council of Europe, Professor of Constitutional Law, University of Athens,
- Mr Reinhart BINDER, Director of Legal Affairs and Company Development, Rundfunk Berlin Brandenburg (RBB broadcasting corporation),
- Mr Mogens BLICHER BJERREGARD, President, European Federation of Journalists, Brussels,
- Mr Adam BUSULEANU, Project Manager, European Platform for Democratic Elections, Berlin,
- Mr Thomas DAUTIEU, Deputy Director of Programmes, Higher Audiovisual Council (CSA) of France, Paris,
- Ms Elfa Ýr GYLFADOTTIR, Chairperson of the Council of Europe's Steering Committee on Media and Information Society (CDMSI), Director of the Icelandic Media Commission, Reykjavík,
- Mr William HORSLEY, Media Freedom Representative of the Association of European Journalists, London,
- Mr Rasto KUZEL, Executive Director, MEMO 98, Bratislava,
- Ms Katharine SARIKAKIS, Professor of Media Governance, University of Vienna,
- Ms Stefanie SCHIFFER, Director General, European Exchange, Berlin,
- Mr Alexander SHLYK, Acting Head of the Election Department, OSCE/ODIHR, Warsaw;

thanked the parliamentary delegation of the German Parliament and in particular its Chairperson Mr Axel E. FISCHER (Germany, EPP/CD) for having hosted this conference and meeting;

decided to meet next in Strasbourg during the 4<sup>th</sup> part-session (10 - 14 October 2016).

Rüdiger Dossow

.....

cc: Secretary General of the Assembly

Director General, Director and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers

Directors General

Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe

Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights

Director of Communication

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe