



CONSEIL DE L'EUROPE

SECRETARIAT

AS/Cult (2017) CB 05 30 June 2017

To the members of the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media

Synopsis of the meeting held in Strasbourg on 27, 28 and 29 June 2017

The Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media, meeting in Strasbourg with Mr Raphaël Comte (Switzerland, ALDE), Alexander The Earl of Dundee (United Kingdom, EC) and Mr Volodymyr Ariev, (Ukraine, EPP/CD) in the Chair,

• on Tuesday 27 June 2017 from 8.30 am to 10 am, as regards:

- **Parliamentary scrutiny over corruption: parliamentary co-operation with investigative media** (*Rapporteur: Ms Gülsün Bilgehan, Turkey, SOC*): took note that there were no amendments tabled to the draft resolution and to the draft recommendation;

- **Putting an end to sexual violence and harassment of women in the public space** (*Rapporteur for opinion: Mr Stefan Schennach, Austria, SOC*): adopted unanimously the draft opinion;

- **The protection of editorial integrity** (*Rapporteur: Mr John Howell, United Kingdom, EC*): considered an introductory memorandum;

- Integration of refugees in times of critical pressure: learning from recent experience and examples of best practice (*Rapporteur for opinion: Mr Pierre-Yves Le Borgn', France, SOC*): adopted unanimously the draft opinion as amended;

• on Wednesday 28 June 2017 from 2 pm to 3.30 pm, as regards:

- Youth against corruption (*Rapporteur: Ms Eleonora Cimbro, Italy, SOC*): adopted unanimously the draft resolution as amended, then approved the report;

- Committee work programme:

Reports on recent meetings: was informed by:

- Mr Andres Herkel (Estonia, EPP/CD), rapporteur on Co-ordination for efficient Internet governance, on the European Dialogue on Internet Governance (EuroDIG) held in Tallinn, Estonia (6-7 June 2017);
- Ms Gülsün Bilgehan (Turkey, SOC), Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Media and Information Society and rapporteur on *Parliamentary scrutiny over corruption: parliamentary co-operation with investigative media*, on the seminar on the *Independence and impartiality of the media* organised by the Parliamentary Assembly and the Parliament of Bosnia and Herzegovina in Sarajevo (29 May 2017);

Approval of rapporteurs' fact finding visits: subject to the availability of funds, approved the visit by Ms Anne Brasseur (Luxembourg, ALDE), rapporteur on *Good football governance*, to meet with high representatives of UEFA and people in charge of the development of Women's football, in Enschede, Netherlands; (6 August 2017);

Designation of representatives for forthcoming events: designated, subject to the availability of funds, Mr Stefan Schennach (Austria, SOC), General Rapporteur on Science and Technology Impact Assessment, to participate in the annual conference and the council of the European Parliamentary Technology Assessment Network (EPTA) in Lucerne, Switzerland (7-8 November 2017);

Draft motions for a resolution/recommendation: took note of two new motions for a resolution:

- Threats to academic freedom and autonomy of universities in Europe, tabled by Ms Katrín Jakobsdóttir (Iceland, UEL), and
- Education geared towards pupils' needs, tabled by Mr Rafael Huseynov (Azerbaijan, ADLE);

decided to inform the Bureau of the Assembly that the commission supports them;

- Membership of sub-committees: approved the following changes:
 - Sub-Committee on Culture, Diversity and Heritage: Mr Andrei Nicolae (Romania, SOC) becomes the alternate of Mr Ion Popa; Mr Armen Rustamyan (Armenia, SOC) becomes member;
 - Sub-Committee on Education, Youth and Sport. Mr Cristian-Sorin Dumitrescu (Romania, SOC) becomes the alternate of Ms Alina-Ștefania Gorghiu; Lord George Foulkes (United Kingdom, SOC) becomes member;
 - Sub-Committee on Media and Information Society: Lord George Foulkes (United Kingdom, SOC) becomes member; Mr Liviu Ioan Adrian Pleşoianu (Romania, SOC) becomes member and Ms Adriana-Diana Tuşa (Romania, SOC) becomes his alternate;

- **Other business**: informed the members about the stands Living library and the virtual visit of a refugees' camp, organised in the foyer of the hemicycle on the occasion of the migration day debates;

• on Thursday 29 June 2017 from 8.30 am to 10 am, as regards:

- **Political influence over independent media and journalists** (*Rapporteur: Mr Stefan Schennach, Austria, SOC*): decided unanimously to table an oral amendment to paragraph 7.3. of the draft resolution, concerning the French text only, to align it with the English text; took position on one amendment to the draft resolution and decided unanimously to table an alternative oral amendment intended to conciliation; took note that the mover of the amendment to the draft recommendation had accepted to withdraw it;

- **The protection and promotion of regional or minority languages in Europe** (*Rapporteur: Ms Rózsa Hoffmann, Hungary, EPP/CD*): considered a preliminary draft report and held an exchange of views with Ms Vesna Crnić-Grotić, Chairperson of the Committee of Experts of the European Charter for Regional or Minority Languages (ECRML);

- World Forum for Democracy – Strasbourg, 8-10 November 2017: took note of the dates and the draft programme of the next forum on the theme *Is Populism a problem*? and designated the following members to be appointed to the *ad hoc* Committee of the Bureau of the Assembly: Mr Volodymyr Ariev, (Ukraine, EPP/CD), Mr Roland Rino Büchel (Switzerland, ALDE), Mr José Cepeda (Spain, SOC), Mr Paolo Corsini (Italy, SOC), Ms Adele Gambaro (Italy, ALDE), Mr Francesco Giro (Italy, EPP/CD), Mr Rafael Huseynov (Azerbaijan, ALDE) and Ms Judith Pallarés (Andorra, ALDE);

- Next meetings:

decided to hold its next plenary meetings as follows:

- Paris, 21 September 2017 (joint meeting with the Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs, hosted by the French Senate) and 22 September 2017
- Strasbourg, 4th part-session (9-13 October 2017)
- Budapest, 4-5 December 2017

took note that the *Sub-Committee on Media and Information Society* wishes to organise a meeting on 6 December 2017 in Budapest, after the plenary meeting.

Roberto Fasino, Ivi-Triin Odrats, Dana Karanjac, Eugen Cibotaru

cc: Secretary General of the Assembly Director General, Director and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe