



SECRETARIAT

AS/Cult (2022) CB 05rev 28 June 2022

# To the members of the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media

# Revised synopsis of the meeting held in Strasbourg on 21 and 23 June 2022

The **Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media**, meeting in Strasbourg on Tuesday 21 June 2022 from 2 pm to 3.30 pm and Thursday 23 June 2022 from 8.30 am to 10 am, with Lord Alexander Dundee (United Kingdom, EC/DA) and Ms Laura Castel (Spain/UEL) in the chair,

# Tuesday 21 June 2022 from 2 pm to 3.30 pm, as regards:

- **The Cultural Routes: a platform for intercultural dialogue** (Rapporteur: Mr Andries Gryffroy, Belgium, NR): considered an introductory memorandum;
- **Track and trace applications: ethical, cultural and educational challenges** (Rapporteur: Mr Duncan Baker, United Kingdom, EC/DA): considered a preliminary draft report and held an exchange of views with the participation of Mr Jean-Philippe Walter (Switzerland), Council of Europe Data Protection Commissioner;
- Committee work programme:

**Draft motions for a resolution and a recommendation:** took note of a draft motion for a resolution on "Countering the erasure of cultural identity in war and peace" presented by Ms Yevheniia Kravchuk (Ukraine, ALDE), and expressed its support for this initiative;

**Reports on recent meetings:** heard from Lord George Foulkes (United Kingdom, SOC) about some exchanges he recently had with FIFA senior officials, as a follow up to his report on "Football governance: business and values";

**Requests or information from the rapporteurs**: heard the respective declarations of absence of conflict of interest from:

- Mr Pavlo Sushko (Ukraine, EC/DA) rapporteur on "Online education and special education needs of children with disabilities and learning difficulties" (online);
- Mr Stefan Schennach, (Austria, SOC) rapporteur on "Countering SLAPPs: an imperative for the democratic society";
- Mr Stefan Schennach (Austria, SOC), Representative to the Committee of the Parties of the Convention on Offences relating to Cultural Property;
- **Composition of the sub-committees**: approved the following changes:

Sub-committee on Education, Youth and Sport:

- Mr Mikko Kinnunen (Finland, ALDE) becomes a full member, replacing Ms Hilkka Kemppi;
- Ms Jeanet van der Laan (Netherlands, ALDE) becomes a full member;

# Sub-committee on Media and Information Society:

- Mr Mikko Kinnunen (Finland, ALDE) becomes an alternate of Ms Inka Hopsu;
- **Communications from the Chairperson of the committee:** was informed by the Chairperson about:
  - the proposal he had addressed to the President of the Assembly concerning the establishment of an ad hoc committee of the Bureau which could attend the Council of Europe Conference of Ministers responsible for Sport in Antalya on 26-27 October 2022;
  - a letter he had received from Mr Ahmet Yildiz, Chairperson of the Turkish Delegation to PACE highlighting the completion of the restauration work on the Western Theatre of the ancient city of Laodicea;

# Thursday 23 June 2022 from 8.30 am to 10 am, as regards:

- The control of online communication: a threat to media pluralism, freedom of information and human dignity (Rapporteur: Mr Frédéric Reiss, France, EPP/CD): considered three amendments to the draft resolution, and adopted unanimously and tabled three written sub-amendments, following proposals by the Rapporteur and agreed on by the movers of the amendments;
- **Promoting online education and research across national borders** (Rapporteur: Lord Alexander Dundee, United Kingdom, EC/DA): held an exchange of views with the participation of Sir Ian Livingstone, author and entrepreneur, United Kingdom;
- **Declaration of the committee:** decided to postpone the vote on the draft declaration "Ensuring effective protection of Hagia Sophia" (Istanbul, Türkiye), and took note of the proposal by Mr Constantinos Efstathiou to invite UNESCO representatives for an exchange of views;

### - Committee work programme:

**References to the committee and appointment of rapporteurs:** appointed Mr Mogens Jensen (Denmark, SOC) rapporteur on "Guaranteeing media freedom and the safety of journalists: an obligation of member States", subject to his declaration of absence of conflict of interest;

## Appointment of representatives for forthcoming events:

- appointed, at no costs for the Assembly:
- Mr Constantinos Efstathiou, Chairperson of the Sub-committee on culture, diversity and heritage, to participate in the Annual Forum of the Cultural Routes on 5-7 October 2022 in Chania, Greece;
- appointed, subject to the availability of funds:
- Ms Foteini Pipili, PACE institutional representative to Europa Nostra, to participate in the annual event of Europa Nostra "European Cultural Heritage Summit 2022" on 25-27 September 2022, in Prague;
- Mr Roberto Rampi, rapporteur on "The role of sites of remembrance: places of commemoration and education for democratic citizenship", to participate in the first annual Forum on History Education on the theme "Sites of memories – learning spaces for Democracy" on 2-4 November 2022, in Belgrade;

### Sub-committees

<u>Sub-committee on Media and Information Society:</u> took note that the Sub-committee will be invited by the Seimas of Lithuania to attend the conference on "Public Service Media for Democracy", which is organised jointly by the Council of Europe and the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) in Vilnius on 22 November 2022, and to meet on 21 November 2022, alongside the conference; entrusted the chairperson to request the authorisation of the PACE Bureau upon reception of the formal invitation;

<u>Sub-committee on Culture, Diversity and Heritage:</u> heard from Ms Foteini Pipili that she wished to invite the sub-committee to meet in Greece in 2023, on the theme of "cultural heritage and water".

- World Forum for Democracy (Strasbourg, 7-9 November 2022): took note of the programme of the next World Forum for Democracy, which will be held in Strasbourg on 7-9 November 2022, and proposed as members of the *ad hoc* Committee of the Bureau of the Assembly: Mr Constantinos Efstathiou (Cyprus, SOC), Ms Linda Hofstad Helleland, (EPP/CD) Norway, Mr Rafael Huseynov (Azerbaijan, ALDE) and Mr Roberto Rampi (Italy, SOC);

#### - Next meetings:

decided on the forthcoming meetings of the committee as follows:

- 4th part-session 2022 (10-14 October 2022),
- 5-6 December 2022, Paris (tbc);

Roberto Fasino, Dana Karanjac, Silvia Arzilli

cc: Secretary General of the Assembly Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe