

Parliamentary Assembly Assemblée parlementaire



http://assembly.coe.int

FOR THE ATTENTION OF MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON ECONOMIC AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT

Secretariat of the Assembly

Synopsis No. 2011/07 **Revised** 28 June 2011

The **Committee on Economic Affairs and Development**, meeting in Strasbourg on 20 and 23 June 2011, with Mrs Naghdalyan (Armenia, ALDE), Chairperson, in the chair, as regards:

- elected Mr Konstantinos Vrettos (Greece, SOC) as Vice-Chairperson;

- **Budgets and priorities of the Council of Europe for the financial years 2012-2013** (Rapporteur: *Mr Erol Aslan Cebeci, Turkey, EPP/CD):* heard a statement by the rapporteur and held an exchange of views in preparation of the forthcoming debate in the Assembly;

- **Expenditure of the Parliamentary Assembly for the financial years 2012-2013** (Rapporteur: *Mr Erol Aslan Cebeci, Turkey, EPP/CD):* heard a statement by the rapporteur and held an exchange of views in preparation of the forthcoming debate in the Assembly;

- **Reform of the Parliamentary Assembly** (Rapporteur: Mr Jean-Claude Mignon, France, EPP/CD): held an exchange of views and agreed to present several amendments to the draft resolution;

- **Reversing the sharp decline in youth employment** (Rapporteur: Mrs Marija Pejčinović-Burić, Croatia, EPP/CD): prepared the forthcoming debate in the Assembly by taking position on the amendments tabled to the draft resolution;

- **The activities of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) in 2010-2011** (*Rapporteur: Ms Biruté Vésaité, Lithuania, SOC*): heard a statement by the rapporteur, held an exchange of views and adopted the draft report, including a preliminary draft resolution, on a provisional basis, with a view to presenting it for debate in the Assembly during the 4th part-session 2011 (3-7 October);

- **Promoting an appropriate policy on tax-havens** (Rapporteur: Mr Dirk van der Maelen, Belgium, SOC): heard a statement by the rapporteur, held an exchange of views on the basis of an outline for a report and authorised the rapporteur to carry out fact-finding visits to Paris and Brussels for the purposes of his report;

- **The challenges faced by small national economies** (Rapporteur: Mrs Marie-Louise Coleiro Preca, Malta, SOC): took note of a revised introductory memorandum;

- Reply from the Committee of Ministers (Doc. 12610) to PACE Recommendation 1893 (2009) on Future of the European Centre for Global Independence and Solidarity (North-South Centre): heard a statement by Mr Sasi, rapporteur;

- Work programme of the Committee: took note of its revised work programme;

- Representation at past and future events:

- Meeting of the Bureau of the Assembly, Strasbourg, 20 June 2011: heard a statement by its Chairperson;

- Joint meeting of the Governing Board and the Administrative Council of the Council of Europe Development Bank, Tirana (Albania), 10-11 June 2011: heard statements by its Chairperson and Mr Elzinga, rapporteur, and agreed to seek complementary information regarding

the reply of the Committee of Ministers to PACE Recommendation 1937 (2010) on "The strategy, governance and functioning of the Council of Europe Development Bank";

- Forum for the Future of Democracy on the subject of "The Interdependence of Democracy and Social cohesion", Cyprus, 13-14 October 2011: appointed Mrs Naghdalyan (Armenia, ALDE), Chairperson, as its representative to the Ad Hoc Committee of the Bureau of the Assembly to participate in the Forum (in addition to Mr Braun (Hungary, EPP/CD));

- appointed **rapporteurs** as follows:

- Energy diversification, a common European economic interest [Doc. 12514]: Mr Sasi (Finland, EPP/CD);

- **Changes in the composition of subcommittees:** designated Ms Muttonen (Austria, SOC) as an alternate to Ms Wurm in the Sub-Committee on International Economic Relations (in replacement of Mr Konečný);

- decided to hold its **next meetings** as follows:

- Strasbourg, 4th part-session 2011 (3-7 October 2011);

- Paris (Council of Europe Office), 9 December 2011.

G. Mezei / A. Ramanauskaite / Y. de Buyer / B. Torcatoriu

Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Directors General Special Representative of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe for Organisational Development and Reform Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly Director General, Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations to the Assembly Secretaries of Political Groups of the Assembly Observers to the Assembly