

SECRETARIAT

AS/Ega/CB (2020) 05 10 July 2020

To the members of the Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination

Synopsis of the meeting held by videoconference on 10 July 2020

The Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination, meeting by videoconference on 10 July 2020 from 10am - 12.30pm, with Ms Petra Bayr (Austria, SOC), Chairperson, in the Chair, as regards:

- Upholding human rights in times of crisis and pandemics: gender equality and non-discrimination (Rapporteur: Ms Petra Stienen, Netherlands, ALDE): considered and approved a draft report; decided to change the title of the report to Upholding human rights in times of crisis and pandemics: gender, equality and non-discrimination and unanimously adopted a draft resolution as amended;
- Preventing discrimination caused by the use of artificial intelligence (Rapporteur: Mr Christophe Lacroix, Belgium, SOC): considered a preliminary draft report;
- Alleged violations of the rights of LGBTI people in the South Caucasus region (Rapporteur: Mr Christophe Lacroix, Belgium, SOC): considered an information memorandum;
- Thematic webinars: took note of the summaries prepared by the Secretariat of the four webinars organised by the Committee from May to July 2020;
- **Reporting back**: heard a report by Mr Momodou Malcolm Jallow (Sweden, UEL) on his participation in the 82nd plenary meeting of the European Commission against Racism and Intolerance (ECRI) on 30 June-2 July 2020;
- Discrimination against Roma and Travellers in the field of housing (Rapporteur: Mr František Kopřiva, Czech Republic, ALDE): considered an information memorandum and authorised the rapporteur to conduct fact-findings visits to Bulgaria and Ireland (subject to the availability of funds);
- World Forum for Democracy: appointed the following members to the Ad Hoc Committee of the Bureau of the Assembly to participate in the World Forum for Democracy on 16-18 November 2020, in Strasbourg, France (at no cost to the Assembly): Ms Zita Gurmai (Hungary, SOC) and Ms Selin Sayek Böke (Turkey, SOC);
- Sub-Committees: approved the following changes in the composition of the Sub-Committee on the Rights of Minorities: Mr Virendra Sharma (United Kingdom, SOC) joins the sub-committee as full member with Mr Gagan Mohindra (United Kingdom, EC/DA) as his alternate;

AS/Ega/CB (2020) 05

- Appointment of representatives: appointed Mr Jean-Pierre Grin (Switzerland, ALDE) to participate in the 2nd meeting of the Committee of Experts on Roma and Traveller Issues (ADI-ROM), on 1-2 October 2020, in Strasbourg, France (subject to the availability of funds);
- Next meetings: confirmed its next meetings as follows:
 - 11 September 2020 from 9.30am to 4.30pm by videoconference;
 - Strasbourg, during the autumn part-session 2020 of the Assembly (12-16 October);
 - Paris, 27 November 2020 (Council of Europe Office).

Penelope Denu, Sarah Burton, Giorgio Loddo, Élodie Fischer

Copy to:

Secretary General of the Assembly
Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly
Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly
Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations
Secretary General of the Congress
Secretary to the Committee of Ministers
Directors General
Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe
Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights
Director of Communication
Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe