Parliamentary **Assembly Assemblée** parlementaire



TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON MIGRATION, REFUGEES AND DEMOGRAPHY

SECRETARIAT OF THE PARLIAMENTARY ASSEMBLY

Synopsis No. 2002/072

17 June 2002

The Committee on Migration, Refugees and Demography, meeting in Voronej (Russia) on 11 June 2002, and in Borisoglebsk (Russia) on 12 June 2002 with Mr Iwiński (Poland, SOC) in the Chair:

As regards:

- Seminar on the humanitarian situation of refugees and displaced persons in CIS countries: took part in the seminar and heard statements by:
 - Mr W.G. KULAKOV, Head of Administration of Voronej district
 - Mr A. BALAHOV, Head of the Council of resettlement organizations "HOKO"
 - Mrs N. VORONINA, Senior Researcher, Institute of State and Law, Russian Academy of Science
 - Mrs A. JOHANSSON, Associate Protection Officer, UNHCR, Moscow Office
 - Mr W. BITUCKIJ, Memorial
 - Mrs E. VLADIMIROVA, Counsellor, CIS Interparliamentary Assembly
- carried out field visits to the refugee settlements in Borisoglebsk;
- Next meetings: confirmed the dates and places as follows:
 - Strasbourg, during the 3rd part of the session 2002 (24-28.6.2002);
 - Helsinki, 16-17 September 2002, Sub-Committee on Migration, 7th Conference of European Ministers responsible for Migration Affairs
 - Strasbourg, during the 4th part of the session 2002 (23-27.9.2002)
 - Brussels, 3-4 October 2002 (*subject to authorisation by the Bureau*) Plenary Committee, joint meeting with the Committee on Citizens' Freedoms and Rights, Justice and Home Affairs of the European Parliament, Hearing on irregular migration and irregular migrants
 - Budapest (European Youth Centre), 17-18 December 2002 (subject to authorisation by the Bureau)

Halvor LERVIK, Agnieszka NACHILO, Sonia SIRTORI

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly
Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly
Secretaries of National Delegations to the Assembly
Secretaries of Political Groups of the Assembly
Directors
Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General
Director of Communication and Research
Secretary of the Committee of Ministers
Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe