Parliamentary **Assembly Assemblée** parlementaire



Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (**Monitoring Committee**)
Commission pour le respect des obligations et engagements des Etats membres du Conseil de l'Europe (**Commission de suivi**)

FOR THE ATTENTION OF MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON THE HONOURING OF OBLIGATIONS AND COMMITMENTS BY MEMBER STATES

Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly

Synopsis N°2003/101 **11 September 2003**

The Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe, meeting in Paris on 10 September 2003 with Mrs Durrieu in the Chair:

- Post-monitoring dialogue with Croatia: considered and approved a memorandum presented by the Chair and decided to recommend to the Bureau the conclusion of the post-monitoring dialogue;
- Armenia (co-rapporteurs: Mr André, France, EPP/CD and Mr Jaskiernia, Poland, SOC): heard a statement by Mr André on the co-rapporteurs' fact-finding visit to Armenia from 20 to 24 August 2003 and held an exchange of views on recent developments in the country;
- Azerbaijan (co-rapporteurs: Mr Gross, Switzerland, SOC and Mr Martínez Casañ, Spain, EPP/CD): heard a statement by Mr Gross on the co-rapporteurs' fact-finding visit to the country from 14 to 18 July 2003, considered an information memorandum by the co-rapporteurs and, following a request by Mr Gross, authorised them to make an additional fact-finding visit to Azerbaijan in the days following the pre-electoral mission to be held in the country on 15 and 16 September 2003;
- Georgia (co-rapporteurs: Mr Eörsi, Hungary, LDR and Mr Kirilov, Bulgaria, SOC): in the absence of the co-rapporteurs, heard a brief statement by the Chair and took note of the letter of 11 July 2003 addressed by the President of the Parliamentary Assembly to the President of Georgia;
- decided to propose to the Bureau the holding of a debate under urgent procedure on the *functioning* of democratic institutions in the Southern Caucasian states at the September part-session of the Assembly and instructed the Chair to send this request to the President of the Assembly accordingly;
- Albania (co-rapporteurs: Mr Smorawinski, Poland, EPP/CD and Mr Soendergaard, Denmark, UEL): heard a statement by the co-rapporteurs, regretted that the Albanian parliamentary delegation still had not submitted its comments to the preliminary draft report on the honouring by Albania of its obligations and commitments, took note of a letter sent on 1st July 2003 by the Chair to the Chairman of the Albanian parliamentary delegation thereon, to which there has been no reply; instructed the Chair to send another letter expressing the Committee's concerns and authorised the co-rapporteurs to make another fact-finding visit to the country in November 2003;
- Liechtenstein (co-rapporteurs: Mr Hancock, United Kingdom, LDR and Mr Jurgens, Netherlands, SOC): considered, amended and approved a draft opinion submitted by the co-rapporteurs and, following an exchange of views, decided to recommend to the Bureau the opening of a monitoring procedure as regards Liechtenstein;

F – 67075 Strasbourg Cedex Tel : +33 3 88 41 20 00 Fax : +33 3 88 41 27 02 http://assembly.coe.int e-mail: assembly@coe.int

- Turkey (co-rapporteurs: Mrs Delvaux-Stehres, Luxembourg, SOC and Mr van den Brande, Belgium, EPP/CD): considered and approved a preliminary draft report on the honouring of obligations and commitments by Turkey, and decided to transmit it to the Turkish authorities for comment within three months;
- Next meeting:
 - . in Strasbourg, during the Assembly part-session (25 September 2 October 2003).

Caroline Ravaud, Ivi-Triin Odrats, Valérie Clamer, Raphaëlle Mathey

CC: Secretary General of the Assembly
Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly
Secretaries of National Delegations to the Assembly
Secretaries of Political Groups of the Assembly

Directors General
Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe
Secretary of the Committee of Ministers
Director of Communication and Research
Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe