## Parliamentary **Assembly Assemblée** parlementaire

Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (**Monitoring Committee**) Commission pour le respect des obligations et engagements des Etats membres du Conseil de l'Europe (**Commission de suivi**)



## FOR THE ATTENTION OF MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON THE HONOURING OF OBLIGATIONS AND COMMITMENTS BY MEMBER STATES

Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly

Synopsis N° 2005/010 27 January 2005

The Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe, meeting in Strasbourg:

• on 24 January 2005 at 2.00 pm with Mrs Josette Durrieu in the Chair:

- Georgia (co-rapporteurs: Mr Mátyás Eörsi, Hungary, LDR, and Mr Evgeni Kirilov, Bulgaria, SOC): took position on the amendments tabled with regard to the draft resolution on the honouring of obligations and commitments by Georgia, scheduled for Assembly debate on Monday, 24 January 2005 in the afternoon;

- Ukraine (co-rapporteurs: Mrs Hanne Severinsen, Denmark, LDR and Mrs Renate Wohlwend, Liechtenstein, EPP/CD): heard a statement by Mrs Severinsen on the situation following the presidential elections;

- Post-monitoring dialogue with "the former Yugoslav republic of Macedonia": heard a statement by the Chairperson and took note of the information report on her visit to the country from 24 to 26 November 2004;

- Azerbaijan (co-rapporteurs: Mr Andreas Gross, Switzerland, SOC and Mr Andres Herkel, Estonia, *EPP/CD*); heard a statement by Mr Andres Herkel on his fact-finding visit to Qazax, Azerbaijan, on 24 October 2004 and a statement by the two co-rapporteurs on their fact-finding visit to Baku, from 16 to 18 December 2004); decided that the co-rapporteurs should visit Azerbaijan again (9-13 February 2005);

- *Post-monitoring dialogue with Bulgaria*: agreed to the Chairperson's proposal to postpone the consideration of this item to its next meeting;

• on 24 January 2005 at 7.40 pm with Mr Erik Jurgens, as the oldest member present, in the Chair:

- *Election of the Bureau of the Committee;* elected Mr György Frunda, Romania, EPP/CD as Chairperson and Mrs Hanne Severinsen, Denmark, LDR, Mrs Naira Shakhtakhtinskaya, Azerbaijan, EDG and Mr Mikko Elo, Finland, SOC, as the 1<sup>st</sup>, 2<sup>nd</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup> Vice-Chairperson respectively;

• on 25 January 2005 at 8.30 am with Mr György Frunda in the Chair:

- Bosnia and Herzegovina (co-rapporteurs: Mr Kimmo Sasi, Finland, EPP/CD and Mrs Naira Shakhtakhtinskaya, Azerbaijan, EDG); heard a statement and took note of the information report on Mr Kimmo Sasi's recent fact-finding mission to Sarajevo, from 15-18 December 2004;

- Opinion on the report of the Committee on Rules of Procedure and Immunities concerning the initiation of monitoring procedure and post-monitoring dialogue: appointed the Chairperson as rapporteur;

- *Council for Democratic Elections*; appointed Mr Luc Van den Brande, Belgium, EPP/CD as a member and Mr André Kvakkestad, Norway, EDG, as an alternate to represent the Committee in the Assembly's delegation;

 $-2^{nd}$  European conference on electoral management bodies, organised by the Venice Commission with the assistance of the European Commission in Strasbourg on 10-11 February 2005: appointed Mr Evgeni Kirilov, Bulgaria, SOC, to represent the committee at this conference;

- Authorisations of visits: authorised co-rapporteurs on Albania, Georgia, Serbia and Montenegro and Ukraine to carry out fact-finding visits to the respective countries;

- Next meeting:

cc:

- in Paris (Council of Europe Office) on Wednesday 16 March 2005.

Caroline Ravaud, Matjaz Gruden, David Ćupina, Dmytro Kotliar

Secretary General of the Assembly Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations to the Assembly Secretaries of Political Groups of the Assembly

Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Secretary of the Committee of Ministers Director of Communication and Research Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe