

FOR THE ATTENTION OF MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON THE HONOURING OF OBLIGATIONS AND COMMITMENTS BY MEMBER STATES OF THE COUNCIL OF EUROPE (MONITORING COMMITTEE)

Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly

Synopsis No. 2006/038

11 April 2006

The Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe, meeting in Strasbourg on 11 April 2006 with first Mr Frunda (Romania, EPP/CD) then Mrs Severinsen (Denmark, ALDE) in the Chair:

as regards:

– Moldova (Co-rapporteurs: Mrs Durrieu, France, SOC and Mr Vareikis, Lithuania, EPP/CD): heard a statement by the co-rapporteurs on their fact-finding visit to Moldova, including Transnistria and Odessa (Ukraine) (12-16 March 2006);

- *Ukraine* (Co-rapporteurs: Mrs Severinsen, Denmark, ALDE and Mrs Wohlwend, Liechtenstein, EPP/CD): heard a statement by the co-rapporteurs on the elections held on 26 March 2006;

- Bosnia and Herzegovina (Co-rapporteurs: Mr Çavuşoğlu, Turkey, EDG and Mr Sasi, Finland, EPP/CD): heard a statement by the co-rapporteurs on their fact-finding visit to Bosnia and Herzegovina (2-5 April 2006) and approved a public statement on the constitutional reform in Bosnia and Herzegovina;

- *Russia* (Co-rapporteurs: Mr van den Brande, Belgium, EPP/CD and Mr Pangalos, Greece, SOC): heard a statement by the co-rapporteurs on their fact-finding visit to Russia (3-5 April 2006) and approved a public statement made by the co- rapporteurs in this regard;

- Albania (Co-rapporteurs: Mr Platvoet, Netherlands, UEL and Mr Wilshire, United Kingdom, EDG): took note of a statement by the co-rapporteurs on their fact-finding visit to Albania (3-6 April 2006);

 Azerbaijan (Co-rapporteurs: Mr Gross, Switzerland, SOC and Mr Herkel, Estonia, EPP/CD): held an exchange of views with the Azerbaijani Delegation on the preparations for the re-run elections of 13 May 2006 and other issues;

.../...

cc: Secretary General of the Assembly Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations to the Assembly Secretaries of Political Groups of the Assembly Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Secretary of the Committee of Ministers Director of Communication and Research Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe - took note of an invitation by the Chairman of the Parliamentary Delegation of Armenia to hold a meeting of the Committee in Yerevan in Autumn 2006;

- Next meetings: decided to hold its next meeting in Budapest on 19 May 2006.

Caroline Ravaud, Despina Chatzivassiliou, Bonnie Theophilova-Permaul, Ivi-Triin Odrats