Parliamentary **Assembly Assemblée** parlementaire

Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (**Monitoring Committee**) Commission pour le respect des obligations et engagements des Etats membres du Conseil de l'Europe (**Commission de suiv**i)



FOR THE ATTENTION OF MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON THE HONOURING OF OBLIGATIONS AND COMMITMENTS BY MEMBER STATES OF THE COUNCIL OF EUROPE (MONITORING COMMITTEE)

Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly

Synopsis No. 2007/005

26 January 2007

The Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe, meeting in Strasbourg on 23 and 25 January 2007 with first Mr Glesener (Luxembourg, EPP/CD), senior member present and then Mr Lintner (Germany, EPP/CD) in the Chair:

as regards:

- Composition of the Committee's Bureau:
 - re-elected Mr Lintner (Germany, EPP/CD) Chairperson by acclamation;
 - re-elected Mrs Severinsen (Denmark, ALDE) First Vice-Chairperson by acclamation;
 - re-elected Mr Elo (Finland, SOC) Second Vice-Chairperson by acclamation;
 - re-elected Mr Torosyan (Armenia, EDG) Third Vice-Chairperson by acclamation;

- Armenia (Co-rapporteurs: Mr Colombier, France, EPP/CD and Mr Elo, Finland, SOC): took a position on proposed amendments to the draft resolution on the honouring of obligations and commitments by Armenia;

- *Moldova* (Co-rapporteurs: Mrs Durrieu, France, SOC and Mr Vareikis, Lithuania, EPP/CD): considered a preliminary draft report on the honouring of obligations and commitments by Moldova and decided to transmit it to the authorities of Moldova for comments within a maximum of three months;

- Post-monitoring dialogue with "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" (Rapporteur: Mr Lintner, Germany, EPP/CD): heard a statement by the Chairman on his fact-finding visit to "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" (15-17 January 2007);

– Current tensions between Russia and Georgia (Co-rapporteurs: Mr van den Brande, Belgium, EPP/CD and Mr Eörsi, Hungary, ALDE): approved a declaration on this subject, decided to declassify the information note of the co-rapporteurs following their fact-finding visit to Tbilisi (20-22 November 2006) and Moscow (28-30 November 2006), and authorised the co-rapporteurs to carry out another fact-finding visit to both countries should the need arise;

cc: Secretary General of the Assembly Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations to the Assembly Secretaries of Political Groups of the Assembly Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Secretary of the Committee of Ministers Director of Communication and Research Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe - Azerbaijan (Co-rapporteurs: Mr Herkel, Estonia, EPP/CD and Mr Lloyd, United Kingdom, SOC): held an exchange of views with the parliamentary delegation of Azerbaijan;

- Albania (Co-rapporteurs: Mr Platvoet, Netherlands, UEL and Mr Wilshire, United Kingdom, EDG): took a position on proposed amendments to the draft resolution on the honouring of obligations and commitments by Albania;

 Monaco (Co-rapporteurs: Mr Agramunt, Spain, EPP/CD and Mr Slutsky, Russia, SOC): took note of the comments of the Delegation of Monaco to the preliminary draft report on the honouring of obligations and commitments by Monaco and decided to revert to this item at its next meeting on 28 March 2007;

- Ukraine (Co-rapporteurs: Mrs Severinsen, Denmark, ALDE and Mrs Wohlwend, Liechtenstein, EPP/CD): considered an information note of the co-rapporteurs following their fact-finding visit to Ukraine (9-12 October 2006) and decided to declassify this document; it authorised the co-rapporteurs to conduct a fact-finding visit to Ukraine in the first quarter of 2007;

- Invitations by the Delegations of the "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" and of Ireland to the PACE to hold a meeting respectively on 14 May 2007 and in 2008: accepted these invitations, subject to the authorisation of the Bureau;

- Appointment of a member and alternate to the Council for Democratic Elections: reappointed Mr van den Brande (Belgium, EPP/CD) as member and Mr Zingeris (Lithuania, EDG) as his alternate.

- Statistics on the attendance of members in 2006: approved a Memorandum presented by its Chairman and decided to send this document to the Chairmen of the political groups of the PACE for further action;

- *Next meetings*: decided to hold its next meetings as follows:

- in Strasbourg on 28 March 2007
- in Strasbourg during the 2nd part of the 2007 session (16-20 April 2007)

Caroline Ravaud, Despina Chatzivassiliou; Bonnie Theophilova-Permaul, Ivi-Triin Odrats