COUNCIL CONSEIL
OF FUROPE DE L'EUROPE

http://assembly.coe.int

.Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee)

Commission pour le respect des obligations et engagements des Etats membres du Conseil de l'Europe (Commission de suivi)

FOR THE ATTENTION OF MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON THE HONOURING OF OBLIGATIONS AND COMMITMENTS BY MEMBER STATES OF THE COUNCIL OF EUROPE (MONITORING COMMITTEE)

Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly

Synopsis No. 2010/009 17 December 2010

The Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee), meeting in Paris, on 10 December 2010, with Mr Dick Marty (Switzerland, ALDE) in the Chair:

as regards:

- Georgia (co-rapporteurs: Mr Kastriot Islami, Albania, SOC, and Mr Michael Aastrup Jensen, Denmark, ALDE): in the absence of the co-rapporteurs, considered a preliminary draft report on the honouring of obligations and commitments by Georgia, and decided to transmit it to the Georgian authorities for comments:
- Moldova (co-rapporteurs: Mr Egidijus Vareikis, Lithuania, EPP/CD, and Ms Lise Christoffersen, Norway, SOC): held an exchange of views on the parliamentary elections of 28 November 2010;
- Ukraine (co-rapporteurs: Ms Mailis Reps, Estonia, ALDE, and Ms Marietta de Pourbaix-Lundin, Sweden, EPP/CD): held an exchange of views on recent developments in Ukraine and agreed to invite Prof. Caarlo Tuori, member of the Venice Commission, Mr Thomas Markert, Secretary of the Venice Commission, as well as a representative of Human Rights Watch, to one of its next meetings;
- Serbia (co-rapporteurs: Mr Davit Harutyunyan, Armenia, EDG, and Ms Sinikka Hurskainen, Finland, SOC): considered an information note by the co-rapporteurs on their fact-finding visit to Belgrade and Novi Pazar (29 November 2 December 2010), decided to declassify it as amended, and agreed to invite a representative of the European Union for an exchange of views to one of its next meetings;
- Armenia (co-rapporteurs: Mr John Prescott, United Kingdom, SOC, and ...): appointed Mr Axel E.
 Fischer (Germany, EPP/CD) co-rapporteur to replace Mr Göran Lindblad (Sweden, EPP/CD), and agreed to ask the opinion of the Venice Commission on a draft amendment to the Electoral Code prepared by the Armenian Revolutionary Federation Party;
- Albania (co-rapporteurs: Mr Jaakko Laakso, Finland, UEL, and ...): decided to postpone the appointment of the co-rapporteur to replace Mr David Wilshire (United Kingdom, EDG) to the meeting to be held during the 2011 first part-session;
- Post-monitoring dialogue with Turkey (rapporteur: Ms Josette Durrieu, France, SOC): held an exchange of views on recent developments in the country;
- Council on Democratic Elections: appointed, for the year 2010, Ms Marietta de Pourbaix-Lundin (Sweden, EPP/CD) as Committee representative to the Council on Democratic Elections to replace Mr David Wilshire (United Kingdom, EDG);

– Other business:

- . was informed by the Secretary General of the Assembly about the progress of the reform of the Assembly;
- . was informed about recent developments in Hungary in the field of legislation and constitutional reforms and asked the Chair to write a letter to the Chair of the Hungarian delegation for clarification;

– Next meetings:

decided to hold its next meetings:

- . in Paris, at the National Assembly, on 17 January 2011 (hearing on the current situation with regard to "the consequences of the war between Georgia and Russia");
- . in Strasbourg, during the 1st part of the 2011 session (24-28 January).

Agnieszka Nachilo, Bas Klein, Sylvie Affholder

cc: Secretary General of the Assembly

Director General, Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations to the Assembly Secretaries of Political Groups of the Assembly

Observers to the Assembly

Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers

Directors General

Special Representative of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe for Organisational Developments and Reform

Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe

Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights

Director of Communication

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe