



SECRETARIAT

**AS/Mon (2015) CB 06 rev** 26 June 2015

## To the members of the Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee)

# Revised synopsis of the meeting held in Strasbourg on 22, 23 and 25 June 2015

The Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee), meeting in Strasbourg, on 22, 23 and 25 June 2015, with Mr Stefan Schennach (Austria, SOC) and Mr Boriss Cilevičs (Latvia, SOC) in the Chair:

• on Monday 22 June 2015 at 2 p.m., as regards:

- Consideration of the annulment of the previously ratified credentials of the delegation of the Russian Federation (follow-up to paragraph 16 of Resolution 2034 (2015)) (Rapporteur: Mr Stefan Schennach, Austria, SOC): approved two amendments to the draft resolution, to be tabled on behalf of the committee;

- **Post-monitoring dialogue with Turkey** (*Rapporteur: Ms Josette Durrieu, France, SOC*): considered an information note by the rapporteur on her fact-finding visit to Istanbul, Şanlıurfa and Ankara (30 April-4 May 2015) and agreed to declassify it; and held an exchange of views on the parliamentary elections of 7 June 2015;

• on Tuesday 23 June 2015 at 8.30 a.m., as regards:

- **Azerbaijan** (Co-rapporteurs: Mr Pedro Agramunt, Spain, EPP/CD and Mr Tadeusz Iwiński, Poland, SOC): took position on 32 amendments to the draft resolution on the functioning of democratic institutions in Azerbaijan;

• on Tuesday 23 June 2015 at 2.00 p.m., as regards:

- Consideration of the annulment of the previously ratified credentials of the delegation of the Russian Federation (follow-up to paragraph 16 of Resolution 2034 (2015)) (Rapporteur: Mr Stefan Schennach, Austria, SOC): took position on 15 amendments to the draft resolution;

- **Republic of Moldova** (Co-rapporteurs: Ms Lise Christoffersen, Norway, SOC, and Mr Piotr Wach, Poland, EPP/CD): considered an information note by the co-rapporteurs on their fact-finding visit to Chisinau and Comrat (13-16 May 2015), held an exchange of views and agreed to declassify the information note; agreed to invite the Governor (*Bashkan*) of the Autonomous Territorial Unit of Gagauzia-Yeri of the Republic of Moldova to its meeting in Strasbourg during the autumn part-session (28 September – 2 October 2015) for an exchange of views in the framework of a discussion on the honouring of obligations and commitments by the Republic of Moldova;

### AS/Mon (2015) CB 06 rev

- **Post-monitoring dialogue with "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia"** (Rapporteur: *Mr Robert Walter, United Kingdom, EC):* heard an oral report on the visit by the delegation of the Monitoring Committee to Skopje (28-29 April 2015) and held an exchange of views;

#### • on Thursday 25 June 2015 at 8.30 a.m., as regards:

- **Rapporteurs**: appointed the following rapporteurs by acclamation; heard a - or took note of a written – declaration on the absence of a conflict of interest from the newly appointed rapporteurs; and thanked the outgoing rapporteurs for all their hard work over the past years;

- Co-rapporteur on the honouring of obligations and commitments by Azerbaijan (in replacement of Mr Agramunt, Spain, EPP/CD): Mr Agustín Conde (Spain, EPP/CD)
- ✓ Co-rapporteur on the honouring of obligations and commitments by Georgia (in replacement of Mr Jensen, Denmark, ALDE): Ms Kerstin Lundgren (Sweden, ALDE)
- Co-rapporteur on the honouring of obligations and commitments by the Republic of Moldova (in replacement of Ms Christoffersen, Norway, SOC): Ms Valentina Leskaj (Albania, SOC)
- Co-rapporteur on the honouring of obligations and commitments by Serbia (in replacement of Mr Saar, Estonia, SOC): Mr Stefan Schennach (Austria, SOC)
- Co-rapporteur on the honouring of obligations and commitments by Ukraine (in replacement of Ms Reps, Estonia, ALDE): Mr Jordi Xuclà (Spain, ALDE)
- ✓ Co-rapporteur on the post-monitoring dialogue with Bulgaria (new post): Mr Frank Schwabe (Germany, SOC)
- ✓ Co-rapporteurs on the post-monitoring dialogue with "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" (one post in replacement of Mr Walter (United Kingdom, EC) and one new post):
  - Ms Lise Christoffersen (Norway, SOC)
  - Mr Valeriu Ghiletchi (Republic of Moldova, EPP/CD)
- Co-rapporteurs on the post-monitoring dialogue with **Turkey** (one post in replacement of Ms Durrieu (France, SOC) and one new post):
  - Ms Ingebjørg Godskesen (Norway, EC)
  - Ms Nataša Vučković (Serbia, SOC);

– **Ukraine** (co-rapporteurs: Ms Mailis Reps, Estonia, ALDE, and Mr Jean-Claude Mignon, France, EPP/CD): in the absence of the co-rapporteurs, agreed to postpone this item to its next meeting;

- World Forum for Democracy (Strasbourg, 18-20 November): invited interested members to become members of the ad hoc Committee of the Bureau and to attend the Forum on behalf of the committee;

*Authorisation of fact-finding visits*: authorised visits to Armenia, Bulgaria, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova, "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia", Turkey and Ukraine;

#### Next meetings:

- ✓ discussed a preliminary programme for the meeting to be held in Sarajevo on 3-4 September 2015 and decided to hold a hearing on the Constitution of Bosnia and Herzegovina in the framework of the meeting;
- ✓ following an invitation from the Austrian Parliament, agreed to hold a meeting of the ad hoc Sub-Committee on Conflicts between Member States of the Council of Europe in Vienna on 21 September 2015;

✓ decided to hold its next meetings as follows:

Sarajevo, 3-4 September 2015 Strasbourg, 28 September – 2 October 2015 (during the Assembly part-session) Paris, 3 November 2015 (*to be confirmed*) Paris, 9 December 2015 (*to be confirmed*)

Ad hoc Sub-Committee on Conflicts between Member States of the Council of Europe:

Vienna, 21 September 2015.

Caroline Ravaud, Bas Klein, Sylvie Affholder, Delphine Freymann

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly Director General, Director and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe