



SECRETARIAT

**AS/Mon (2015) CB 09** 5 October 2015

To the members of the Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee)

## Synopsis of the meeting held in Strasbourg on 28 September and 1 October 2015

The Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee), meeting in Strasbourg, on 28 September and 1 October 2015,

• **on Monday 28 September 2015 at 2 p.m.**, with Mr Stefan Schennach (Austria, SOC) in the Chair, as regards:

- **Election of a second Vice-Chairperson:** following the change of political group by Ms Yuliya L'Ovochkina (Ukraine, SOC), appointed by acclamation Mr Samad Seyidov (Azerbaijan, EC) second Vice-Chairperson on behalf of the EC group, to complete Ms L'Ovochkina's term of office;

- **Spain:** held an exchange of views on the Citizens' Security Law and the proposed law on changes to the powers of the Constitutional Court, with the participation of Mr José María Beneyto, Chair of the Spanish delegation to PACE, and agreed to ask the Venice Commission for an opinion on the Citizen Security Law and on the proposed law on changes to the powers of the Constitutional Court of Spain, on the understanding that these opinions would not be made public before the next parliamentary elections;

- **Armenia** (co-rapporteurs: Mr Axel Fischer, Germany, EPP/CD, and Mr Alan Meale, United Kingdom, SOC): adopted a statement on the constitutional reform;

• **on Thursday 1 October 2015 at 8.30 a.m.** with Mr Stefan Schennach (Austria, SOC) and Mr Samad Seyidov (Azerbaijan, EC) in the Chair, as regards:

- The progress of the Assembly's monitoring procedure (October 2014 – August 2015) (rapporteur: Mr Stefan Schennach, Austria, SOC): took position on 12 amendments to the draft resolution;

- **Albania** (co-rapporteurs: Mr Jonathan Evans, United Kingdom, EC, and Mr Andrej Hunko, Germany, UEL): decided to postpone discussion of this item to its next meeting;

- **Bosnia and Herzegovina** (co-rapporteurs: *Mr* Egidijus Vareikis, Lithuania, EPP/CD, and Mr Roger Gale, United Kingdom, EC): heard an oral report by Mr Gale on the co-rapporteurs' fact-finding visit to Sarajevo (7-8 September 2015) and held an exchange of views;

Ad hoc Sub-Committee on Conflicts between Member States of the Council of Europe: heard an oral report by the Chair on the meeting of the ad hoc sub-committee in Vienna on 21 September 2015 and asked the co-rapporteurs for the Republic of Moldova to explore the possibility of organising an exchange of views with the Transnistrian *de facto* authorities at the next meeting of the sub-committee, and to report to the Monitoring Committee on the progress achieved in this respect;

- Authorisation of fact-finding visits: authorised visits to Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Serbia;

## – Other business:

• took note of Mr Jean-Claude Mignon's resignation as co-rapporteur for Ukraine, agreed to appoint a new co-rapporteur at its next meeting, and to provide the political groups with a list of rapporteur positions that would become vacant between the present meeting and the January 2016 part-session;

• in the light of the recent events in the Republic of Moldova and the pre-trial detention of former PACE member, Grigore Petrenco, asked the Chair to request further details on this case from the Moldovan authorities, should the 30 day pre-trial detention be extended;

• took note of the draft programme of the World Forum for Democracy (Strasbourg, 18-20 November 2015);

- **Next meetings:** decided to hold its next meetings as follows:

Paris, 3 November 2015 Paris, 9 December 2015.

\*\*\*\*

Caroline Ravaud, Bas Klein, Sylvie Affholder, Delphine Freymann

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly Director General, Director and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe