



SECRETARIAT

AS/Mon (2016) CB 04 25 May 2016

To the members of the Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee)

Synopsis of the meeting held in Paris on 23 May 2016

The Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee), meeting in Paris on 23 May 2016, with Mr Cezar Florin Preda (Romania, EPP/CD) and then Mr Philippe Mahoux (Belgium, SOC) in the Chair:

Post-monitoring dialogue with Turkey (co-rapporteurs: Ms Ingebjørg Godskesen, Norway, EC and Ms Nataša Vučković, Serbia, SOC): approved a draft report and adopted a draft resolution on the functioning of democratic institutions in Turkey, as amended, with a view to its presentation at the June 2016 partsession; agreed to place an item on Turkey on the agenda for its meeting during the June part-session to consider an addendum containing possible committee amendments proposed by the co-rapporteurs; decided to ask the Venice Commission for an opinion on "the duties, competences and functioning" of the "criminal courts of peace" established by the Law 5235 of Turkey;

– **Azerbaijan** (co-rapporteurs: Mr Stefan Schennach, Austria, SOC, and Mr Cezar Florin Preda, Romania, EPP/CD): considered an information note on the fact-finding visit to Baku (5-9 April 2016); held an exchange of views and agreed to declassify the information note;

- **Georgia** (co-*rapporteurs: Mr Boriss Cilevičs, Latvia, SOC, and Ms Kerstin Lundgren, Sweden, ALDE):* heard an oral report by Mr Cilevičs on the fact-finding visit by the co-rapporteurs to Tbilisi (2-5 May 2016) and held an exchange of views;

- **Post-monitoring dialogue with "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia"** (co-rapporteurs: *Ms Lise Christoffersen, Norway, SOC and Mr Valeriu Ghiletchi, Republic of Moldova, EPP/CD*): heard an oral report by the co-rapporteurs on the pre-electoral mission (26-27 April 2016); was informed of the cancellation of the early parliamentary elections initially scheduled for 5 June 2016, following the decision of the Constitutional Court of 18 May 2016; agreed to update and declassify with immediate effect the information note by the co-rapporteurs on their fact-finding visit to Skopje, Tetovo and Gostivar (15-18 February 2016); agreed to ask the Venice Commission to adopt the already requested opinion on the amended electoral code of November 2015 at its earliest convenience; decided to invite the leaders of the two main parties (VRMO-DPMNE and SDSM) to take part in an exchange of views on recent developments and the state of implementation of the Przino Agreement, at its next meeting in Strasbourg;

- Authorisation of fact-finding visits: authorised visits to Armenia, Georgia and Turkey;
- Other business:
 - warmly thanked the Finnish delegation for the invitation to meet in Helsinki (Finland) in 2017 on the occasion of the first centenary of its independence and agreed to organise its May 2017 meeting there (subject to authorisation of the Bureau of the Assembly);

- agreed to hold an exchange of views on the developments in the Russian Federation with regard to human rights, democracy and the rule of law at one of its next meetings;
- **Next meetings**: decided to hold its next meetings as follows:

Strasbourg, 20-24 June 2016 (during the Assembly part-session)
Tirana, 22-23 September 2016
Strasbourg, 10-14 October 2016 (during the Assembly part-session)
Paris, 9 November 2016 (to be confirmed)
Paris, 14 December 2016 (to be confirmed).

Caroline Ravaud, Bas Klein, Sylvie Affholder, Delphine Freymann

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly Director General, Director and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe