



SECRETARIAT

AS/Mon (2016) CB 05 27 June 2016

To the members of the Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee)

Synopsis of the meeting held in Strasbourg on 20, 21, 22 and 23 June 2016

The Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee), meeting in Strasbourg, on 20, 21, 22 and 23 June 2016, with Mr Cezar Florin Preda (Romania, EPP/CD), Mr Philippe Mahoux (Belgium, SOC) and Ms Hermine Naghdalyan (Armenia, EC) in the Chair, as regards:

• on Monday 20 June 2016:

- **Post-monitoring dialogue with Turkey** (co-rapporteurs: Ms Ingebjørg Godskesen, Norway, EC and Ms Nataša Vučković, Serbia, SOC): adopted four amendments to the draft resolution on behalf of the committee and approved an addendum to the report on the functioning of democratic institutions in Turkey;

- **Russian Federation** (co-rapporteurs: Ms Theodora Bakoyannis, Greece, EPP/CD, and Ms Liliane Maury Pasquier, Switzerland, SOC): heard an oral report by Ms Maury Pasquier on recent developments in the country and the state of the monitoring procedure; held an exchange of views; agreed to consider an information note to be prepared by the co-rapporteurs on the functioning of democratic institutions in the Russian Federation at its meeting in October 2016 and to organise a hearing on the subject on that occasion;

– Azerbaijan (co-rapporteurs: *Mr* Stefan Schennach, Austria, SOC, and *Mr* Cezar Florin Preda, *Romania, EPP/CD*): postponed this item to its next meeting;

- **Post-monitoring dialogue with "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia"** (co-rapporteurs: *Ms Lise Christoffersen, Norway, SOC, and Mr Valeriu Ghiletchi, Republic of Moldova, EPP/CD):* agreed to postpone this item and to invite the leaders of the VRMO-DPMNE and SDSM parties for an exchange of views on recent developments and the state of implementation of the Przino Agreement during its next meeting in September;

• on Tuesday 21 June 2016:

- **Post-monitoring dialogue with Turkey** (co-rapporteurs: Ms Ingebjørg Godskesen, Norway, EC and Ms Nataša Vučković, Serbia, SOC): took position on amendments tabled to the draft resolution on the functioning of democratic institutions in Turkey;

Armenia (co-rapporteurs: Mr Alan Meale, United Kingdom, SOC, and Mr Giuseppe Galati, Italy, EPP/CD): considered an information note by the co-rapporteurs on their fact-finding visit to Yerevan (10-12 May 2016) and agreed to declassify it;

• on Wednesday 22 June 2016:

- **Post-monitoring dialogue with Turkey** (co-rapporteurs: Ms Ingebjørg Godskesen, Norway, EC and Ms Nataša Vučković, Serbia, SOC): took position on the remaining amendments tabled to the draft resolution on the functioning of democratic institutions in Turkey;

- **Preliminary draft reports on countries not under the monitoring procedure stricto sensu or engaged in a post-monitoring dialogue** (Rapporteur ex officio: Mr Cezar Florin Preda, Romania, EPP/CD): considered the preliminary draft reports on Denmark, Finland and Germany and held an exchange of views with members of the delegations concerned; decided to transmit these reports to the authorities of the respective countries for their comments;

• on Thursday 23 June 2016 at 8.30 am:

 Venice Commission: held an exchange of views with Mr Thomas Markert, Director and Executive Secretary of the Venice Commission on the opinions of the Venice Commission requested by the committee and general trends;

- **Functioning of democratic institutions in Poland**: appointed Mr Thierry Mariani (France, EPP/CD) and Mr Yves Cruchten (Luxembourg, SOC) co-rapporteurs for a report on the functioning of democratic institutions in Poland and took note of their written declarations of non-conflict of interests;

- **Albania** (co-rapporteurs: Mr Andrej Hunko, Germany, UEL, and): appointed Mr Joseph O'Reilly (Ireland, EPP/CD) co-rapporteur for Albania and took note of his written declaration of non-conflict of interests;

• on Thursday 23 June 2016 at 2 pm:

- **Georgia** (co-rapporteurs: *Mr* Boriss Cilevičs, Latvia, SOC, and *Ms* Kerstin Lundgren, Sweden, ALDE): considered an information note by the co-rapporteurs on their fact-finding visit to Tbilisi (2-5 May 2016), held an exchange of views and agreed to declassify the information note while restricting its publication to the members of the Committee and the members of the ad hoc Committee for the observation of the parliamentary elections of 8 October 2016, until these elections have taken place;

– **Post-monitoring dialogue with Bulgaria** (co-rapporteurs: Mr Frank Schwabe, Germany, SOC, and Mr Zsolt Németh, Hungary, EPP/CD): postponed this item to a future meeting;

– **Bosnia and Herzegovina** (co-rapporteurs: Mr Egidijus Vareikis, Lithuania, EPP/CD, and Mr Roger Gale, United Kingdom, EC): heard an oral report by the co-rapporteurs on their fact-finding visit to Sarajevo, Mostar, and Banja Luka (13-17 June 2016);

- *World Forum for Democracy (Strasbourg, 7-9 November 2016)*: invited interested members to become members of the ad hoc Committee of the Bureau to attend the Forum on behalf of the committee;

- **Authorisation of fact-finding visits**: authorised visits to Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Poland and Ukraine;

– Next meetings:

- *Meeting and hearing in Tirana (22-23 September 2016)*: discussed a draft programme for the meeting to be held in Tirana on 22-23 September 2016 and decided to hold a hearing on interreligious tolerance in the framework of the meeting;
- Ad hoc Sub-Committee on Conflicts between Member States of the Council of Europe: agreed to a meeting of the ad hoc sub-committee on conflicts between Council of Europe member States in Tirana on Wednesday 21 September (afternoon), the day before the plenary committee meeting;
- decided to hold its next meetings as follows:

Tirana, 22-23 September 2016; Strasbourg, 10-14 October 2016 (during the Assembly part-session) Paris, 9 November 2016 (*to be confirmed*) Paris, 14 December 2016 (*to be confirmed*) Ad hoc Sub-Committee on Conflicts between Member States of the Council of Europe

Tirana, 21 September 2016 (afternoon).

Caroline Ravaud, Bas Klein, Sylvie Affholder, Delphine Freymann

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly Director General, Director and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe