



SECRETARIAT

AS/Mon (2019) CB 05 28 June 2019

To the members of the Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee)

Synopsis of the meeting held in Strasbourg on 25, 26 and 27 June 2019

The Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee), meeting in Strasbourg on 25, 26 and 27 June 2019 in camera, with Sir Roger Gale (United Kingdom, EC), Mr Giorgi Kandelaki (Georgia, EPP/CD) and Mr Boriss Cilevičs (Latvia, SOC) in the Chair:

• on Tuesday, 25 June 2019 at 8.30 am., as regards:

- **Election of the 1st Vice-Chairperson of the Committee**: elected by acclamation Mr Boriss Cilevičs (Latvia, SOC):

North Macedonia (co-rapporteur: Ms Lise Christoffersen, Norway, SOC and ...): heard an oral report by Ms Christoffersen on the co-rapporteurs' fact-finding visit to Skopje (28-31 May 2019); considered a preliminary draft report on the post-monitoring dialogue with North Macedonia and agreed to send it to the authorities of North Macedonia for comments which should be submitted by 15 August; agreed to appoint a new co-rapporteur at its next meeting to replace Mr Valeriu Ghiletchi (Republic of Moldova, EPP/CD), who left the Assembly;

- **Republic of Moldova** (co-rapporteurs: *Mr* Egidijus Vareikis, Lithuania, EPP/CD and Ms Maryvonne Blondin, France, SOC): heard a statement by the co-rapporteurs on recent developments in the country and held an exchange of views; agreed to consider a report on the functioning of democratic institutions in the Republic of Moldova at its next meeting with a view to proposing it for presentation during the October 2019 part-session,

- **Periodic review reports**: heard a statement and considered a note on the preparation of periodic review reports prepared by the Chairperson of the Committee; decided to return to this issue at a next meeting;

• on Tuesday, 25 June 2019 at 2.00 pm., as regards:

- Challenge, on substantive grounds, of the still unratified credentials of the parliamentary delegation of the Russian Federation: appointed Sir Roger Gale (United Kingdom, EC) as rapporteur, heard from him a declaration of non-conflict of interest and held an exchange of views on the subject;

- **Armenia** (co-rapporteurs: Ms Yuliya Lovochkina, Ukraine, SOC and Mr Andrej Šircelj, Slovenia, *EPP/CD*): considered an information note by the co-rapporteurs on their fact-finding visit to Yerevan (12-14 March 2019) and declassified it;

- **Albania** (co-rapporteurs: Mr Andrej Hunko, Germany, UEL and Mr Joseph O'Reilly, Ireland, EPP/CD): heard a statement by the co-rapporteurs on recent developments with regards to local elections and held an exchange of views;

- **Bosnia and Herzegovina** (co-rapporteurs: *Mr Tiny Kox, Netherlands, UEL and Mr Serhiy Sobolev, Ukraine, EPP/CD):* heard a statement by the co-rapporteurs on the non-submission of credentials by the Parliamentary Assembly of Bosnia and Herzegovina and held an exchange of views;

• on Tuesday, 25 June 2019 at 7.30 pm., as regards:

- Challenge, on substantive grounds, of the still unratified credentials of the parliamentary delegation of the Russian Federation (rapporteur: Sir Roger Gale, United Kingdom, EC): considered a draft report and adopted a draft resolution;

• on Wednesday, 26 June 2019 at 2.00 pm., as regards:

- Challenge, on substantive grounds, of the still unratified credentials of the parliamentary delegation of the Russian Federation (rapporteur: Sir Roger Gale, United Kingdom, EC): took position on 19 amendments tabled to the draft resolution;

• on Thursday, 27 June 2019 at 8.30 am., as regards:

– Post-monitoring dialogue with Bulgaria (co-rapporteurs: *Mr Frank Schwabe, Germany, SOC and Mr Zsolt Németh, Hungary, EPP/CD*): took position on 1 amendment tabled to the draft resolution;

- **Turkey** (co-rapporteurs: Mr Nigel Evans, United Kingdom, EC and Mr Thomas Hammarberg, Sweden, SOC): appointed Mr Thomas Hammarberg (Sweden, SOC) to replace Ms Marianne Mikko (Estonia, SOC) who left the Assembly and heard from him a declaration of non-conflict of interest; held an exchange of views on the repeated local elections in Istanbul on 23 June 2019 and asked the co-rapporteurs to pay a fact-finding visit to the country at their earliest convenience;

- **Serbia** (co-rapporteurs: *Mr* Ian Liddell-Grainger, United Kingdom, EC, and): agreed to appoint a new co-rapporteur at its next meeting to replace Ms Maria Guzenina (Finland, SOC), who left the Assembly;

World Forum for Democracy on "Is Democracy in danger in the information age?" (Strasbourg, 6-8 November 2019): took note of the concept note and proposed that Mr Egidijus Vareikis (Lithuania, EPPC/D) be appointed to the ad hoc Committee of the Bureau of the Assembly to participate in the Forum;

- **OECD Global Parliamentary Network (Paris, 10 October 2019):** took note of the draft programme and called for candidates to participate in the OECD Global Parliamentary Network;

- **Authorisation of fact-finding visits**: authorised the co-rapporteurs to conduct a fact-finding visit to the Republic of Moldova, Montenegro and the Russian Federation, subject to the availability of financial resources:

- **Next meetings**: decided to hold its upcoming meetings on the following dates:

Paris, 10 September 2019 (Council of Europe Office) Strasbourg, 30 September - 4 October 2019 (during the Assembly part-session) Paris, 13 November 2019 (Council of Europe Office, tbc) Paris, 11 December 2019 (Council of Europe Office, tbc)

Agnieszka Nachilo, Bas Klein, Sylvie Affholder, Alexis Salanson

Copy to:

Secretary General of the Assembly Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe