Parliamentary **Assembly Assemblée** parlementaire



FOR THE ATTENTION OF MEMBERS OF THE POLITICAL AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly

Synopsis N° 2004 / 95

16 September 2004

The Political Affairs Committee, meeting in Paris on 14 September 2004 with Mr Jakič (Slovenia, LDR): in the Chair:

- observed a minute of silence in memory of victims of acts of terrorism;

- decided to propose to the Bureau to hold, during the Part-Session of October 2004, a debate under urgent procedure on the *Challenge of terrorism in the member States of the Council of Europe*, nominated Mr Kosachev (Russia, EDG) as rapporteur (Subject to a decision of the Assembly to hold a debate under urgent procedure), and took note of the intention of the delegation of Russia to propose to the Bureau of the Assembly to invite Mr Dzasokhov, President of North Ossetia, and Mr Fridinsky, Vice-Procurer General of Russia, to this debate;

as regards:

- The political situation in the Chechen Republic: measures to increase democratic stability in accordance with Council of Europe standards (Rapporteur: Mr Gross, Switzerland, SOC): unanimously adopted a draft Resolution and a draft Recommendation as amended, and was informed about the intention of the delegation of Russia to propose to the Bureau of the Assembly to invite to the Part-Session in October of the Parliamentary Assembly high ranking officials of the authorities of the Chechen Republic;

- **New methodological concepts of democracy to evaluate its implementation** (Rapporteur: Mr Severin, Romania, SOC): took note of a presentation by Professor Perrineau, Director of the *Centre de Recherches Politiques* (*CEVIPOF*, Paris) and unanimously adopted a draft Resolution and a draft Recommendation as amended;

- **The conflict over the Nagorno-Karabakh region dealt with by the Minsk Conference of the OSCE** (Former Rapporteur: The Rt. Hon. Terry Davis, United Kingdom, SOC): held an exchange of views based on a draft report prepared by its former Rapporteur, took note of a decision by the Bureau to prolong the validity of the reference until 31 January 2005, and appointed Mr Atkinson (United Kingdom, EDG) as its new rapporteur;

- **Relations between Europe and the United States** (Rapporteur: Mr Azzolini, Italy, EPP/CD): heard a statement by the Rapporteur and took note of a draft report;

- **Situation in "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia"** (Rapporteur: Mr Bianco, Italy, EPE/CD): held an exchange of views based on a memorandum prepared by the Rapporteur and presented, in his absence, by Mrs de Zulueta, considered that the situation in the country justified the preparation of a report, and authorised the Rapporteur to carry out a fact-finding visit to the country;

- *Parliamentary contribution to the implementation of the Stability Pact in South-East Europe* (Rapporteur: Mr Toshev, Bulgaria, EPP/CD): took note of the work timetable proposed by the Rapporteur;

- **Symposium on strengthening democratic institutions** (Rapporteur: Mr Wielowieyski, Poland, EPP/CD): took note of a statement by the Rapporteur and of an invitation by the delegation of Poland to hold in Warsaw in February-March 2005 a meeting of the Committee and a symposium on "*Strengthening democracy in Europe: public participation and democratic cohesion*";

- **Need for international condemnation of totalitarianism** (Rapporteur: Mrs Aguiar, Portugal, EPP/CD): held a preliminary exchange of views on the organisation of a parliamentary hearing in the framework of the plenary meeting, on 14 December 2004, in Paris;

- **Conference of the Parliamentary Troïka on the Stability Pact on the "Fight against organised crime in South-East Europe"** (Sofia, 11-12 November 2004): took note of a decision of the Bureau to constitute an *Ad Hoc* Committee of the Assembly responsible for contributing to and participating in the Conference and to include in it five representatives of the Political Affairs Committee, appointed Mr Toshev (Bulgaria) and Mr Lindblad (Sweden) as its representatives, and postponed the appointment of its other representatives to its next meeting;

- made the following appointments to its sub-committees:

- Sub-Committee on Relations with Non-Member Countries:
- . Mr Meimarakis, Greece;
- . Mr de Puig, Spain (Alternate: Mr Puche);
- . Mr Kirilov, Bulgaria (Alternate: Mr Loutfi);
- . Mr Brincat, Malta;
- Sub-Committee on the Middle East:
- . Mr Agramunt, Spain, instead of Mr de Puig (Alternate: Mrs Aburta instead of Mr Puche);
- . Mr Brincat, Malta;
- Sub-Committee on Belarus:
- Mr Padilla, Spain (Alternate: Mr Curiel)

Next meetings:

Plenary Committee:

- . Strasbourg, 4th Part-Session (4 8 October 2004);
- . Paris, 14 December 2004

* * *

The Sub-Committee on Relations with Non-Member Countries (of the Political Affairs Committee), meeting in Paris on 14 September 2004 with Mr Severin (Romania, SOC) in the Chair:

- Relations with the United Nations: 59th session of the General Assembly of the United:

. took note of a draft Resolution on *Co-operation between the United Nations and the Council of Europe* prepared by the Ministers' Deputies to be submitted at the General Assembly of the United Nations;

. expressed its wish to hold an exchange of views on this subject with the Secretary General of the Council of Europe, and asked its Chairperson to take the necessary steps to invite him to its next meeting;

.was informed about the decision of the Bureau to authorise it to meet in New York on the occasion of the 59th session of the General Assembly of the United Nations (19 - 21 October 2004), and took note of a preliminary draft programme for this meeting;

- took note of a statement by its Chairperson about its future work, followed by an exchange of views;

- decided to hold at its next meeting in Strasbourg, during the Part-Session of October 2004 (4 - 8 October 2004).

Barış Perin, Pavel Chevtchenko, Rüdiger Dossow

сс

Secretary General and secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations to the Assembly Secretaries of Political Groups of the Assembly Special Guests and Observers to the Assembly

Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Secretary of the Committee of Ministers Director of Communication and Research