# Parliamentary **Assembly Assemblée** parlementaire

Political Affairs Committee Commission des questions politiques



# FOR THE ATTENTION OF THE MEMBERS OF THE POLITICAL AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

## Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly

### Synopsis N° 2005 / 118rev

9 November 2005

**The Political Affairs Committee**, meeting in Ottawa (Canada) on 24 and 25 October 2005 with Mr Ates (Turkey, SOC) in the Chair,

. held an exchange of views, concerning, *inter alia*, on transatlantic relations, reform of the United Nations, good governance, the responsibility to protect and human security, with:

- Mr Daniel Hays, Speaker of the Senate of Canada;
- Mr Peter Milliken, Speaker of the House of Commons of Canada;
- Mrs Aileen Carroll, Minister for International Co-operation of Canada;
- Mr Lloyd Axworthy, former Canadian Minister of Foreign Affairs;
- Mr Paul Heinbecker, Director of "the Centre for Global Relations, Governance and Policy", Wilfrid Laurier University;

with, in particular, the participation of the Committee Rapporteurs on the above-mentioned issues: Mr Azzolini (Italy, EPP/CD), Mr Timmermans (Netherlands, SOC) and Mrs de Zulueta (Italy, SOC);

. held a joint meeting with the House of Commons Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade, and held an exchange of views on two reports currently under preparation: *Parliamentary dimension of the United Nations* and *The concept of preventive war and its consequences for international relations*;

\* \* \* \* \*

elected Mr Zsolt Németh (Hungary, EPP/CD) as Third Vice-Chair;

took note of Mr Dick Marty's (Switzerland, ALDE) resignation from the post of First Vice-Chair;

as regards:

- **Parliamentary dimension of the United Nations** (*Rapporteur: Mrs de Zulueta, Italy, SOC*): held an exchange of views based on a preliminary draft Resolution;

.../...

сс

Secretary General and secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations to the Assembly Secretaries of Political Groups of the Assembly Special Guests and Observers to the Assembly Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Secretary of the Committee of Ministers Director of Communication and Research Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe

F - 67075 Strasbourg Cedex, tel: +33 3 88 41 20 00, fax: +33 3 88 41 27 76, http://assembly.coe.int, e-mail: assembly@cee.int

- **Budgetary powers of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe** (*Rapporteur for opinion: Mr Lindblad, Sweden, EPP/CD*) : held an exchange of views along the main lines of an oral opinion on a draft Recommendation tabled by the Committee on Economic Affairs and Development, and adopted amendments, proposed by the Rapporteur, to be tabled on its behalf;

- **The concept of preventive war and its consequences for international relations** (Rapporteur: *Mr Timmermans, Netherlands, SOC*): continued an exchange of views based on a preliminary draft report;

- **Enhancing the visibility of the Council of Europe** (Rapporteur: Mr Mota Amaral, Portugal, EPP/CD): authorised the Rapporteur to carry out an information visit to Strasbourg;

- **Situation in Kazakhstan** (Rapporteur: Mr Iwinski, Poland, SOC): authorised the Chair to request the Bureau to extend the reference;

- **The external relations of the Council of Europe** (Rapporteur: Mr Severin, Romania, SOC): authorised the Rapporteur to make an information visit to the Council of Europe's North-South Centre (Lisbon, Portugal);

- **Possibilities of cooperation between the Council of Europe and Lebanon (Doc. 10636)**: took note of the advice of the Sub-Committee on External Relations and asked the Chair to request the Bureau to modify the reference;

- **Institutional balance in the Council of Europe** (report by the Committee on Rules of Procedure and Immunities): asked its Chair to write to the Bureau to request to be seized for opinion;

#### - Composition of sub-committees:

appointed new members of its sub-committees as follows:

Sub-Committee on the Middle East: Lord Tomlinson (United Kingdom), alternate: Mr John Austin;

Sub-Committee on External Relations: Mr John Austin (United Kingdom), alternate: Lord Tomlinson;

Sub-Committee on Belarus: Mr Gordon Prentice (United Kingdom);

*Next meetings:* . Paris. 14 December 2005

Baris Perin, Pavel Chevtchenko, Sonia Sirtori-Milner