Parliamentary **Assembly Assemblée** parlementaire



TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF PROCEDURE AND IMMUNITIES

SECRETARIAT OF THE PARLIAMENTARY ASSEMBLY 26 January 2005 Synopsis 2004/8

The Committee on Rules of Procedure and Immunities, meeting in Strasbourg on 24 and 25 January 2005, first with Mr Andrea Manzella (Italy, SOC), senior member present, and then with Mr Andreas Gross (Switzerland, SOC) in the Chair:

as regards

- Election of the Chairperson:
 - elected Mr Gross (Switzerland, SOC) as Chairperson;
- Election of three Vice-Chairpersons:
- elected **Mr Manzella (Italy, SOC)** as 1st Vice-Chairperson,
- elected Mrs Samoilovska-Cvetanova ("the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia", EPP/CD) as 2nd Vice-Chairperson,
- elected **Mrs Garsdal (Denmark, UEL)** as 3rd Vice-Chairperson;
- Challenge of credentials of individual members of a national delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly on substantive grounds: appointed **Mr van Overmeire (Belgium, NR)** as rapporteur, replacing Mr Magnusson, who has left the Assembly, and asked him to present a draft report at the meeting on 17 March in Paris;
- Request by Senator Raffaele lannuzzi to defend his immunity as a member of the Parliamentary Assembly (Rapporteur: Mr Jurgens, Netherlands, SOC): heard an explanation by the rapporteur, held an exchange of views on a draft report, declassified it, and asked the rapporteur to present a revised version in the light of the discussions held for its meeting on 17 March;
- Membership of past Presidents of the Parliamentary Assembly in the Political Affairs Committee (Rule 18.3.): appointed Mr Höfer (Germany, SOC) as rapporteur, replacing Mr Magnusson who has left the Assembly, and asked him to present a draft report for the meeting on 17 March;

./.

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly
Director General in the Secretariat of the Assembly
Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly
Secretaries of National Delegations to the Assembly
Secretaries of Political Groups of the Assembly

Directors General
Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe
Secretary of the Committee of Ministers
Director of Communication and Research
Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe

- Follow-up to the seminar on "The role of the opposition in a democratic parliament" (Stockholm, 10 December 2004): agreed to discuss further action to be given on the basis of the minutes of the seminar at the meeting on 17 March;
- Transparency of decisions of the Committee of Ministers: appointed Mr Čekuolis (Lithuania, LDR) as rapporteur, replacing Mr Olteanu who will leave the Assembly and asked him to present a draft report for the meeting on 17 March;
- Assembly rules on current affairs and urgent debates (Rapporteur: Mr Manzella, Italy, SOC): took note of a working document and postponed the discussions to its meeting on 17 March;
- Composition (number of seats) of the Committee on Equal Opportunities for Women and Men (Rapporteur: Mrs Samoilovska-Cvetanova, "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia", EPP/CD): because of the absence of the rapporteur postponed the discussion to its meeting on 17 March;
- Amendment of Rule 34.5. of the Rules of Procedure (with respect to the deadline for tabling amendments): appointed **Mr Mulas, Italy (EDG)** as rapporteur;
- Date and place of the next meetings: agreed to hold the following meetings:

- Strasbourg, 27 January 2005, 2.00 pm (Room 7)

- Paris 17 March, 2.00 pm (meeting place to be decided)

- Strasbourg, 25-29 April 2005 (during the next part-session of the Assembly)

Mario Heinrich / Sabine Radziwill