



http://assembly.coe.int

Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs Commission du Règlement, des immunités et des affaires institutionnelles

## TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF PROCEDURE, IMMUNITIES AND INSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS

SECRETARIAT OF THE PARLIAMENTARY ASSEMBLY

## **Synopsis**

13 April 2011

The Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs, meeting in Strasbourg on 12 April 2011 with first Mr Saar (Estonia, SOC), third Vice-Chair, and then Mr Vareikis (Lithuania, EPP/CD) in the Chair, as regards:

- Election of the Chairperson of the Committee: following the resignation of Mr Haibach from the Assembly, elected Mr Vareikis (Lithuania, EPP/CD), Chairperson;
- Reform of the Parliamentary Assembly: considered a draft report of the Ad Hoc Committee on the Reform of the Assembly, held an exchange of views and approved the contribution of the committee;
- **Ensuring protection against attacks on the honour and reputation of persons** (rapporteur: Mrs Bemelmans-Videc, the Netherlands, EPP/CD): in the absence of the rapporteur, took note of an introductory memorandum, and asked the rapporteur to present a draft report during the next meeting, taking into account the written comments to be made by committee members by 1 June 2011;
- Participation of members in Parliamentary Assembly plenary sessions and committee meetings: considered and approved an information memorandum prepared by the secretariat and asked its Chairperson to send it to the President of the Assembly for transmission to the Bureau for follow-up;
- **Next meeting**: in Strasbourg, during the Assembly 3<sup>rd</sup> part-session (20-24 June 2011).

Valérie Clamer, Kateryna Gayevska

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations to the Assembly Secretaries of Political Groups of the Assembly Observers to the Assembly

Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Directors General

Special Representative of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe for Organisational Development and Reform

Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe

Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights

**Director of Communication** 

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe