

SECRETARIAT

AS/Pro (2015) CB 03 24 April 2015

To the members of the Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs

Synopsis of the meeting held in Strasbourg on 20 and 21 April 2015

The Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs, meeting in Strasbourg on 20 and 21 April 2015, with Mr Hans Franken (Netherlands, EPP/CD) in the Chair, as regards:

- Hearing on "Corrupt elites as a threat to democracy": held a joint hearing with the Committee on Political Affairs and Democracy, with the participation of:
 - Mr Michele Nicoletti (Italy, SOC), member of the Parliamentary Assembly's anti-corruption platform, rapporteur of the Committee on Political Affairs and Democracy on Corruption as governance regime: a barrier to institutional efficiency and progress
 - Mr Raffaele Cantone, President of the Italian Anti-Corruption Authority, Rome
 - Mr Sergei Guriev, Professor of Economics at the Paris Institute for Political Studies;
- Budgets and priorities of the Council of Europe for the biennium 2016-2017 and Expenditure of the Parliamentary Assembly for the biennium 2016-2017 (rapporteur: Mr Rudy Salles, France, EPP/CD): took position on one amendment to the draft resolution, and, due to the excused absence of the rapporteur, asked Mr André Bugnon (Switzerland, ALDE), to present both reports to the Assembly;
- The allocation of seats in the Parliamentary Assembly with respect to Turkey (rapporteur: Mr Andreas Gross, Switzerland, SOC): considered and approved a report, unanimously adopted a draft resolution and a draft recommendation, and asked the rapporteur to present them at the Standing Committee (Sarajevo, 22 May 2015);
- Budgetary matters Analysis of the use made by the Assembly's political groups of their allocations for 2014 (rapporteur: Mr Rudy Salles, France, EPP/CD): considered and unanimously approved a communication to the Bureau of the Assembly;
- Follow-up to Resolution 2037 (2015) on Post-electoral shifting in members' political affiliation and its repercussion on the composition of a national delegation (rapporteur: Mr Jordi Xuclà, Spain, ALDE): considered and approved a memorandum by the rapporteur on the implementation of paragraph 10 of Resolution 2037 (2015) and asked its chairperson to inform the Bureau of the follow-up the committee intended to take;
- **Europe's public administrations in flux: public service under threat?** (*rapporteur: Mr Tiny Kox, Netherlands, UEL*): took note of the reply by the Committee of Ministers to Assembly Recommendation 2050 (2014) and asked its chairperson to invite the Chairperson of the Ministers' Deputies to provide additional information regarding the concrete follow-up given to some proposals made in the Recommendation;

- Appointment of rapporteurs: appointed the following rapporteurs:
 - The nature of the mandate of members of the Parliamentary Assembly, for report: Ms Nastaša Vučković (Serbia, SOC)
 - Consideration of the annulment of the previously ratified credentials of the delegation of the Russian Federation [follow-up to paragraph 16 of Resolution 2034 (2015)], for opinion (subject to reference): Mr Egidijus Vareikis (Lithuania, EPP/CD);

and heard a declaration of absence of conflict of interest from them;

- Fair representation and effective participation of opposition in the national delegations: was informed about the situation of opposition members in a parliamentary delegation and decided to resume consideration of the issue in the framework of the report being prepared on "Effective representation and participation in the Parliamentary Assembly of opposition parliamentarians in the member States" (rapporteur: Mr Pedro Agramunt, Spain, EPP/CD);

– Next meeting:

. in Strasbourg, during the Assembly's 3rd part-session of 2015 (22 – 26 June 2015).

Valérie Clamer, Kateryna Gayevska

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly
Director General, Director and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly
Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly
Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations

Secretary General of the Congress
Secretary to the Committee of Ministers
Directors General
Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe
Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights
Director of Communication
Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe