

SECRETARIAT

AS/Pro (2015) CB 05 1 October 2015

To the members of the Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs

Synopsis of the meeting held in Strasbourg on 29 September 2015

The Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs, meeting in Strasbourg on 29 September 2015, with Mr Hans Franken (Netherlands, EPP/CD), first Vice-Chairperson, in the Chair, as regards:

- Modifications to the Rules of Procedure (follow-up to Resolution 2018 (2014)) (Rapporteur: Mr Jordi Xuclà, Spain, ALDE): considered a preliminary draft report and instructed the rapporteur to present at a forthcoming meeting a draft report taking into account the comments provided by committee members;
- Introduction of sanctions against parliamentarians (rapporteur: Mr Arcadio Díaz Tejera, Spain, SOC): considered a revised preliminary draft report and instructed the rapporteur to present at a forthcoming meeting a draft report taking into account the comments provided by committee members;

Work programme:

- appointed Mr Tiny Kox (Netherlands, UEL) as rapporteur on "Defending the acquis of the Council of Europe: preserving 65 years of successful intergovernmental co-operation", heard from him a declaration on the absence of any conflict of interest, and decided to ask the Assembly Bureau for an extension of the validity of the reference of this report until 31 December 2016;
- appointed Mr George Loukaides (Cyprus, UEL) as general rapporteur of the Parliamentary Assembly on the budget and intergovernmental programme and heard from him a declaration on the absence of any conflict of interest;
- Other business: following the request for an opinion by the Assembly Bureau on "Challenges to the co-operation of member States with the Assembly as regards the free movement of Assembly members", instructed its Chairperson to prepare a draft opinion for consideration at the forthcoming meeting;

– Next meeting:

• in Paris (Council of Europe office) on 10 December 2015, at 9 am, Committee meeting, followed by a seminar on mechanisms enabling the national parliaments to fight corruption, on 10 (afternoon) and on 11 December 2015.

Valérie Clamer, Kateryna Gayevska

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly

Director General, Director and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations

Secretary General of the Congress
Secretary to the Committee of Ministers
Directors General
Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe
Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights
Director of Communication
Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe