

Parliamentary Assembly Assemblée parlementaire





SECRETARIAT

AS/Pro (2019) CB 06 27 June 2019

## To the members of the Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs

## Synopsis of the meeting held in Strasbourg on 24. 25 and 26 June 2019

The Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs, meeting in Strasbourg, on 24, 25 and 26 June 2019, with first Ms Petra de Sutter (Belgium, SOC), and then Mr Serhii Kiral (Ukraine, EC) 1st Vice-Chairperson, in the Chair, as regards:

Strengthening the decision-making process of the Parliamentary Assembly concerning credentials and voting (Rapporteur: Ms Petra De Sutter, Belgium, SOC): took position on the amendments tabled to the draft resolution:

Budget and priorities of the Council of Europe for the biennium 2020-2021 and Expenditure of the Parliamentary Assembly for the biennium 2020-2021 (Rapporteur: Mr Mart van de Ven, Netherlands, ALDE): took position on the amendments presented to the draft opinion and to the draft resolution;

Challenge on procedural grounds of the still unratified credentials of the parliamentary delegation of Spain:

- heard a statement by Ms Carmen Leyte (EPP/CD), Chairperson of the Spanish parliamentary delegation;
- following an exchange of views, considered and unanimously adopted an opinion for the President of the Parliamentary Assembly, in accordance with Rule 7.2 of the Assembly's Rules of Procedure, concluding that the credentials of the Spanish parliamentary delegation should be ratified;

Challenge on procedural grounds of the still unratified credentials of the parliamentary delegation of the Russian Federation:

- appointed Mr Egidijus Vareikis (Lithuania, EPP/CD) rapporteur and heard from him a declaration on the absence of any conflict of interest;
- considered a draft report and, following an extensive exchange of views, failed to adopt a draft resolution;
- decided to request the European Commission for Democracy through Law (Venice Commission) for an opinion on the compliance with the Council of Europe and other international standards of national parliamentary elections organised in a State's nationwide constituency which is not within internationally recognised borders;

Challenge on substantive grounds of the still unratified credentials of the parliamentary delegation of the Russian Federation: appointed Mr Piero Fassino (Italy, SOC) rapporteur for opinion and heard from him a declaration on the absence of any conflict of interest, considered a report presented by the Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee) and invited its rapporteur to present the oral opinion of the committee in plenary;

- Report of the Independent Investigation Body on the allegations of corruption within the Parliamentary Assembly: assessment of the follow-up given by the committee to the conclusions and recommendations: considered and unanimously approved a progress report for the attention of the Bureau of the Assembly;

## - Work programme: took note of its work programme;

- **Other business:** was informed about the upcoming World Forum for Democracy and the appointment of members to the ad hoc Committee of the Bureau (Strasbourg, 6-8 November 2018), the OECD Global Parliamentary Network (Paris, 10 October 2019) and the appointment of members to the ad hoc Committee of the Bureau, and the call for nominations for the 2019 North-South Prize;

## – Next meeting:

• Strasbourg, during the Assembly's 4<sup>th</sup> part-session (30 September-4 October 2019).

Valérie Clamer, Kateryna Gayevska

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations

Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe