

Parliamentary Assembly Assemblée parlementaire



COUNCIL OF EUROPE CONSEIL DE L'EUROPE

SECRETARIAT

AS/Pro (2019) CB 07 4 October 2019

To the members of the Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs

Synopsis of the meeting held in Strasbourg on 2 October 2019

The Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs, meeting in Strasbourg, on 2 October 2019, with first Sir Roger Gale (United Kingdom, EC), senior member present, and then Mr Indrek Saar (Estonia, SOC), in the Chair, as regards:

Composition of the Bureau of the Committee:

- elected by acclamation Mr Indrek Saar (Estonia, SOC) Chairperson,
- elected by acclamation Ms Nino Goguadze (Georgia, EC) and Mr Raphaël Comte (Switzerland, ALDE) 1st and 2nd Vice-Chairperson respectively;

Rule 7 of the Assembly's Rules of Procedure on the challenge, on procedural grounds, of credentials submitted by national delegations: taking into account restrictive measures adopted by the European Union concerning individuals: held a hearing in the context of the follow-up to the debate on the draft report on the "Challenge on procedural grounds of the still unratified credentials of the parliamentary delegation of the Russian Federation" (Rapporteur: Mr Egidijus Vareikis, Lithuania, EPP/CD), with the participation of Professor Pierre Klein, Centre for International Law, Faculty of Law – Free University of Brussels (Belgium), and Professor Władysław Czapliński, Institute of International Law, Polish Academy of Sciences, Łódź (Poland);

Guidelines on the scope of the parliamentary immunities enjoyed by members of the Parliamentary Assembly: appointed Mr Tiny Kox (Netherlands, UEL) rapporteur, heard from him a declaration of absence of any conflict of interest, and decided to ask the Bureau of the Assembly for an extension of the validity of the reference until 5 October 2020;

Setting minimum standards for electoral systems in order to offer the basis for free and fair elections: appointed Sir Edward Leigh (United Kingdom, EC) rapporteur for opinion, and heard from him a declaration of absence of any conflict of interest;

The need to enable the Committee of Ministers to give answers to the Assembly even in the absence of a consensus (Rapporteur: Ms Thorhildur Sunna Ævarsdóttir, Iceland, SOC): decided to ask the Bureau of the Assembly for an extension of the validity of the reference until 5 October 2020;

Next meetings:

- Paris, Bureau du Conseil de l'Europe, December 2019 (date to be confirmed)
- Strasbourg, during the Assembly's 1st part-session (27-31 January 2020).

Valérie Clamer, Kateryna Gayevska

cc. Secretary General of the Assembly Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations

Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe