

COUNCIL OF EUROPE

SECRETARIAT

**AS/Pro (2021) CB 05** 4 June 2021

# To the members of the Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs

# Synopsis of the meeting held by videoconference on 2 and 3 June 2021

The Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs, meeting by videoconference, on 2 and 3 June 2021, with Ms Ingjerd Schou (Norway, EPP/CD) in the Chair, as regards:

## Wednesday 2 June 2021

#### – Alleged breaches of the Code of Conduct for Members of the Parliamentary Assembly -Complaints concerning a letter sent by Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (United Kingdom, EC/DA) to the President of the Assembly on 12 February 2021 (in camera):

• in accordance with the Rules of Procedure and the committee's established procedure, heard Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger, took note of his written comments, had an exchange of views, and after deliberation and votes, found that there had been a serious breach of the rules of conduct set out in paragraph 7 of the Code of Conduct; it decided, pursuant to paragraphs 25 and 27.1 of the Code of Conduct, that Mr Liddell-Grainger shall withdraw his offensive statements and accusations and apologise to the members mentioned in his letter and, should he decide not to do so, that he would be temporarily deprived of the right to speak and to be enrolled on the list of speakers of the Assembly's session for a period of three months as of 2 June (and until 2 September 2021);

• in accordance with the Rules of Procedure and the committee's established procedure, heard Mr Arkadiusz Mularczyk, took note of his written comments, had an exchange of views, and after deliberation and votes, found that there had been a serious breach of the rules of conduct set out in paragraph 7 of the Code of Conduct; it decided, pursuant to paragraphs 25 and 27.1 of the Code of Conduct, that Mr Mularczyk shall withdraw his statements and publications and apologise to the members concerned, and should he decide not to do so, that he would be temporarily deprived of the right to speak and to be enrolled on the list of speakers of the Assembly's session for a period of three months as of 2 June (and until 2 September 2021);

- **Complaint concerning Ms Rosianne Cutajar (Malta, SOC)** (in camera): decided to proceed to the hearing of Ms Cutajar at a next meeting;

- **Complaint concerning Mr Oleksii Goncharenko (Ukraine, EC/DA)** (in camera): decided to postpone the consideration of the complaint to its next meeting;

- Guidelines on the scope of the parliamentary immunities enjoyed by members of the **Parliamentary Assembly** (Rapporteur: Mr Tiny Kox, Netherlands, UEL): considered a preliminary draft report and invited the rapporteur to present a draft report to its meeting on 8 September;

- Work programme: took note of the work programme;

.../...

## Thursday 3 June 2021 - Joint hearing with the Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination

- **Gender representation in the Parliamentary Assembly** (*Rapporteur: Ms Nicole Trisse, France, ALDE; Rapporteur for opinion: Ms Petra Bayr, Austria, SOC*): held a joint hearing with the participation of Mr Dimitrios Papadimoulis, Vice-President of the European Parliament, Chair of the High-level Group on Gender Equality and Diversity; Ms Caroline Ressot, Project Manager, High Council for Gender Equality (France); Ms Mariana Duarte Mutzenberg, Programme Officer, Gender Partnership Programme, Inter-Parliamentary Union; Mr Pierre Garrone, Head, Division II, European Commission for Democracy through Law (Venice Commission);

#### Next meetings:

- Strasbourg, during the Assembly's 3rd part-session (21-24 June 2021)
- 8 September 2021 (place to be confirmed)
- Strasbourg, during the Assembly's 4<sup>th</sup> part-session (27 September-1<sup>er</sup> October 2021)
- 23 November 2021 (place to be confirmed)

Valérie Clamer, Kateryna Gayevska

cc: Secretary General of the Assembly Director and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe