

AS/Soc (2020) CB 02 20 May 2020

To the members of the Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development

Synopsis

of the meeting held by videoconference on 19 May 2020

The Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development, meeting by videoconference on Tuesday, 19 May 2020, from 10 am to 12 pm, with Mr Luís Leite Ramos (Portugal, EPP/CD), Chairperson, in the Chair, as regards:

- Message from the President of the Parliamentary Assembly, Mr Rik Daems: heard a message by the President of the Parliamentary Assembly, Mr Rik Daems;
- Sub-Committee on the Europe Prize: heard a report from the Sub-Committee Chairperson, Mr Kęstutis Masiulis (Lithuania, EPP/CD) on the meeting held the same morning, and approved the proposals submitted by the Sub-Committee for the different distinctions (see Appendix);
- Committee's work programme and priorities:
- appointed rapporteurs as follows:

For report:

✓ Lessons for future public health emergencies from an effective and rights-based response to the COVID-19 pandemic: Mr Andrej Hunko (Germany, UEL)

For opinion:

- ✓ Strengthening the role of young people in the prevention and resolution of conflicts: Ms Christiana Erotokritou (Cyprus, SOC)
- ✓ The activities of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD):

 Ms Selin Sayek Böke (Turkey, SOC)

and heard from them a declaration of absence of conflict of interest;

- Consideration of draft motions for a resolution/recommendation with a view to adoption by the Committee for tabling: after having checked the quorum, considered and adopted for tabling on behalf of the Committee the following motions for a resolution/recommendation:
 - Eradicating extreme child poverty in Europe: an international obligation and a moral duty
 - ✓ Anchoring the right to a healthy environment: need for enhanced action by the Council of Europe
 - Deinstitutionalisation of persons with disabilities
- Addressing sexual violence against children: stepping up action and co-operation in Europe (Rapporteur: Baroness Doreen E. Massey, United Kingdom, SOC): considered a revised draft report and unanimously adopted a draft resolution and a draft recommendation, with a view to presenting the report for debate at the Standing Committee on 26 June 2020;
- Changes in Sub-Committees: approved the following changes:

Sub-Committee on the Europe Prize

- ✓ Ms Nigar Arpadarai (Azerbaijan, NR) becomes a full member
- ✓ Mr Christian Petry (Germany, SOC) becomes a full member

Sub-Committee on Children

✓ Ms Sevinj Fataliyeva (Azerbaijan, EC/DA) becomes a full member

✓ Ms Parvin Karimzada (Azerbaijan, NR) becomes the alternate of Ms Sevinj Fataliyeva

Sub-Committee on Public Health and Sustainable Development

- ✓ Ms Nigar Arpadarai (Azerbaijan, NR) becomes a full member
- ✓ Ms Konul Nurullayeva (Azerbaijan, NR) becomes the alternate Ms Nigar Arpadarai
- Other business: authorised Mr Joseph O'Reilly (Ireland, EPP/CD), Rapporteur on "Involuntary addiction to prescription medicines", to undertake a fact-finding visit to Denmark (subject to the availability of funds);
- Date and place of next meetings:
 - 2 June 2020 by videoconference on the KUDO platform
 - 22 September 2020, Paris (Council of Europe Office) OR 22-23 September 2020 (place to be determined, date to be confirmed)
 - October part-session 2020 of the Assembly, 12-16 October 2020, Strasbourg (to be confirmed)
 - 1 December 2020, Paris (Council of Europe Office) (to be confirmed)

The Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development, meeting by videoconference on Tuesday, 19 May 2020, from 2 to 4 pm, with Mr Luís Leite Ramos (Portugal, EPP/CD), Chairperson, in the Chair, as regards:

- Lessons for future public health emergencies from an effective and rights-based response to the COVID-19 pandemic (Rapporteur: Mr Andrej Hunko (Germany, UEL): held a public hearing with the participation of:
 - Ms Stella Kyriakides, Commissioner for Health and Food Safety, European Commission;
 - Ms Dunja Mijatović, Council of Europe Commissioner for Human Rights;
 - Mr David Nabarro, Special Envoy on COVID-19 to the World Health Organization Director-General;
 - Ms Rebecca Katz, Director of the Center for Global Health Science and Security, Georgetown University, USA;

The Sub-Committee on the Europe Prize, meeting by videoconference on Tuesday, 19 May 2020, from 9 to 9.30 am, with Mr Kęstutis Masiulis (Lithuania, EPP/CD), Chairperson, in the Chair:

- Plaques of Honour, Flags of Honour and European Diplomas for 2020: proposed to award these
 distinctions to 28 towns as shown in the Appendix;
- General Assembly and Youth Meeting 2020, Association of Towns Awarded the Europe Prize, Częstochowa (19-20 June 2020): was informed that this event had been postponed due to the current situation linked to COVID-19;
- Date and place of the next meetings:
 - Sub-Committee on the Europe Prize: was informed that applications for the Europe Prize would be considered at a meeting to be held by videoconference in June/July 2020 (to be confirmed)
 - Presentation ceremony of European Diplomas in Strasbourg during the 2020 October part-session of the Assembly (12-16 October) or during the 2021 June part-session of the Assembly (date to be confirmed)

Tanja Kleinsorge, Aiste Ramanauskaite, Ayşegül Elveriş, Yulia Pererva, Prisca Barthel, Guillaume Parent

Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly

Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly

Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations

Secretary General of the Congress

Secretary to the Committee of Ministers

Directors General

Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe

Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights

Director of Communication

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe

cc: Secretary General of the Assembly

Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development

Sub-Committee on the Europe Prize

WINNERS OF THE EUROPE PRIZE, THE PLAQUE OF HONOUR, THE FLAG OF HONOUR AND THE EUROPEAN DIPLOMA FOR 2020

1. EUROPE PRIZE

The **Europe Prize**, which is the highest distinction, could be awarded to one of these towns (the decision on the winner will be taken in the summer):

Shortlist:

France Amilly (Centre-Val de Loire)

Germany Bamberg (Bavaria)

Münster (North Rhine-Westphalia)

Lithuania Birštonas (Kaunas County)

Poland Bolesławiec (Lower Silesian Voivodship)

Sopot (Pomeranian Voivodship)

2. PLAQUES OF HONOUR

The **Plaque of Honour**, which is the second highest distinction after the Europe Prize, is awarded to 8 municipalities:

France St-Germain-en-Laye (Île-de-France)

Germany Aßlar (Hessen)

Hannover (Lower Saxony)
Kamen (North Rhine-Westphalia)

Italy Formigine (Province of Modena)

Serbia Kikinda (Vojvodina)

Turkey **Büyükçekmece** (Istanbul Municipality)

Ukraine Vinnytsia (Vinnytsia oblast)

3. FLAGS OF HONOUR

The **Flag of Honour** is awarded to 6 municipalities:

Germany **Neustadt-bei-Coburg** (Bavaria)

Poland Mińsk Mazowiecki (Mazovian Voivodship)

Spain Mollet del Vallès (Catalonia)

Turkey **Şişli** (Istanbul Municipality)

Ukraine **Kyiv** (Kyiv oblast)

Rivne (Rivne Oblast)

4. EUROPEAN DIPLOMAS

The **European Diploma** is awarded to 12 municipalities:

Austria Neumarkt in der Steiermark (Murau District)

France Bayeux (Normandie)

Germany Velbert (North Rhine-Westphalia)

Italy Cavaglià (Piedmont)

Contigliano (Latium)

Reggio Emilia (Emilia-Romagna)

Spain Bilbao (Basque country)

Tarragona (Catalonia)

Turkey Çiğli (Aegean Region)

Çiğli (Aegean Region) Çorlu (Marmara Region) Selçuk (Aegean Region)

Ukraine Poltava (Poltava oblast)