Doc. 9891

27 August 2003

Membership of the immediate past President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe and the Chairpersons of political groups in the Political Affairs Committee

Motion for a resolution

presented by Mr Eörsi and others

This motion has not been discussed in the Assembly and commits only the members who have signed it

At the end of 2001 the Presidential Committee made the following proposal which was submitted and approved by the Bureau on 21 January 2002:

“1.       During his/her term of office, the President of the Assembly has the opportunity to gather a considerable experience through the contacts he/she establishes with the leading political personalities around the world.

2.       It seems logical that in the immediate future following the end of his/her presidency, the Assembly takes advantage of his/her political experience by allowing the immediate past President – provided that he/she still is an Assembly member – to actively participate in the work of the Political Affairs Committee.

3.       The case of the Monitoring Committee proves that the position of “ex officio member” granted in this Committee to the Chairpersons of the Political Affairs Committee and the Committee on Legal Affairs and Human Rights has been very advantageous for the Committee and allowed these persons to positively contribute to its work.

4.       In the same spirit, it should be recalled that the present position, in the Political Affairs Committee, of the Chairpersons of political groups who are not members of this committee (Rule 17.5 of the Rules of Procedure amended by Resolution 1284 (2002)) prevents them from participating in the committee’s activities as full members.

5.       Therefore it is proposed to amend the Rules of Procedure in order to enable the immediate past President of the Assembly, provided he/she still is member of the Assembly, and the Chairpersons of the political groups to become “ex officio members” of the Political Affairs Committee, including participation as a Rapporteur but without the right to vote, in case they were not appointed members of this Committee by their national delegation. As regards the immediate past President, this provision would apply for an initial period of one year.”

The Assembly,

Notes that this was approved by the Bureau and referred to the Committee on Rules of Procedure and Immunities, which accepted its substance unanimously on 24 April 2002 (Doc. 9455);

Regrets that when this was brought before the Standing Committee in Lucerne on 29 May 2002 an amendment was passed excluding the Past Presidents from the right to become Rapporteurs;

Notes that this right was granted to Group Leaders who also had been made “ex officio members” of the Political Affairs Committee;

Believes that the decision by the Standing Committee taken in Lucerne ought to be reviewed and the original proposal from the Presidential Committee be adopted.

Signed 1:

Eörsi, Hungary, LDR

Bargholtz, Sweden, LDR

Bērzinš, Latvia, LDR

Blaauw, Netherlands, LDR

Čekuolis, Lithuania, LDR

Clerfayt, Belgium, LDR

Dees, Netherlands, LDR

Frey, Switzerland, LDR

Goris, Belgium, LDR

Goulet, France, LDR

Hadžiahmetović, Bosnia and Herzegovina, LDR

Hancock, United Kingdom, LDR

Huseynov R., Azerbaijan, LDR

Ivanov, Estonia, LDR

Jařab, Czech Republic, LDR

Jurić, Croatia, LDR

Kaikkonen, Finland, LDR

Kovalev S., Russia, LDR

Loutfi, Bulgaria, LDR

Milotinova, Bulgaria, LDR

Pavlov, Bulgaria, LDR

Pehrson, Sweden, LDR

Shishlov, Russia, LDR

Škrabalo, Croatia, LDR

Velikov, Bulgaria, LDR

1        SOC: Socialist Group

      EPP/CD: Group of the European People’s Party

      EDG: European Democratic Group

      LDR : Liberal, Democratic and Reformers’ Group

      UEL: Group of the Unified European Left

      NR: not registered in a group