Parliamentary Assembly

Doc. 10827
1 February 2006

Transfrontier co-operation

Motion for a recommendation
presented by Mr Bockel and others

This motion has not been discussed in the Assembly and commits only the members who have signed it

The Council of Europe Parliamentary Assembly reiterates the importance of transfrontier co-operation as a tool for developing and reinforcing local democracy at pan-European level. In this connection it has jointly organised, with the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe, 8 European Conferences of border regions, latterly in Lutsk (Ukraine) on 15 and 16 September 2005.

While again emphasising the importance of the European Outline Convention on transfrontier co-operation between territorial communities or authorities and its protocols, the Assembly recalls the adoption by the Committee of Ministers of the Vilnius Declaration on regional co-operation and the consolidation of democratic stability in Greater Europe (2002) and also of the Chisinau Declaration on transfrontier and inter-territorial co-operation between States in South-Eastern Europe (2003).

The Assembly also recalls that, throughout Europe in recent years, there has been an increase in the number of transfrontier co-operation structures termed "Euroregions". These structures enable authorities at different levels on either side of state borders to work together in defending common interests and improving the everyday lives of border communities.

The Assembly encourages the setting up of new Euroregions and believes that any "Euroregion" in central and eastern Europe should take account of the experience of existing Euroregions.

The Assembly recommends that the member States of the Council of Europe step up their efforts to:

It reiterates its belief that increased transfrontier co-operation would contribute to better and faster development of democracy throughout the continent and socio-economic fulfilment in border regions, and gives its full backing to any initiative aimed at intensifying this kind of co-operation in Europe.


Signed 1:

BOCKEL, Jean-Marie, France, SOC
ALAY FERRER, Vicenç, Andorra, SOC
BARGETZE, Rony, Liechtenstein, EPP/CD
DEDJA, Taulant, Albania, SOC
DEDJA, Taulant, Albania, SOC
DEITTERT, Hubert, Germany, EPP/CD
DORIC, Miljenko, Croatia, ALDE
DUPRAZ, John, Switzerland, ALDE
ETHERINGTON, Bill, United Kingdom, SOC
EVANS, Nigel, United Kingdom, EDG
FALZON, Joseph, Malta, EPP/CD
FLYNN, Paul, United Kingdom, SOC
HUSS, Jean, Luxembourg, SOC
IVANOV, Ivan, Bulgaria, NR
JADUŠ, Jaroslav, Slovakia, NR
JAKAVONIS, Gediminas, Lithuania, ALDE
KOVALEV, Yuri, Russian Federation, EDG
KUŽVART, Miloš, Czech Republic, SOC
LALOY, Marie-José, Belgium, SOC
LINDINGER, Ewald, Austria, SOC
LOBKOWICZ, Jaroslav, Czech Republic, EPP/CD
MEALE, Alan, United Kingdom, SOC
MENDES BOTA, José, Portugal, EPP/CD
O'HARA, Edward, United Kingdom, SOC
SCHMIED, Walter, Switzerland, ALDE
SMIRNOVA, Svetlana, Russian Federation, EDG
VIS, Rudi, United Kingdom, SOC

1        SOC: Socialist Group
       EPP/CD: Group of the European People’s Party
       ALDE: Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe
       EDG: European Democratic Group
       UEL: Group of the Unified European Left
       NR: not registered in a group