Doc. 11061
4 October 2006

The functioning of the Metsamor Atomic Power Station of Armenia: great danger for the South Caucasus and the whole of Europe

Written question No 506 to the Committee of Ministers
presented by Mrs Pashayeva

      Metsamor station, situated in Armenia, is one of the great dangers for the South Caucasus. During the accident on 14 July of the current year, the population of Azerbaijan and Georgia were frightened. The reason was that, if a serious accident happens, the Government of Azerbaijan would have less than 24 hours time for evacuation. In addition, Metsamor APS, which is able to destruct the lives in the majority of South Caucasus in a short time, is located in the territory which has 11-magnitude earthquake risk. In spite of the European Union’s call for Armenia to stop the activity of the Metsamor APS, the official Yerevan resumed the activity of the 1974-built station in 1995.

      In addition, despite the long international discussions on the closure of the APS, as a cancellation of the debt, Armenia gave the station to the management of Inter RAO APS Company of Russia for 5 years in 2003. Even though the European Union criticised such a step of the official Yerevan and demanded Armenia to stop the activity of APS, Yerevan officials still ignore these demands.

      Metsamor APS is a great danger not only for Azerbaijan but also for the countries of the region; the station is located 16 kms from Turkey, 60 kms from the Islamic Republic of Iran and 120 kms from the borders of Azerbaijan and Georgia.

      Considering all of these, Mrs Pashayeva asks the Committee of Ministers:

      Taking into account the danger of this situation for the whole region, what steps can the Committee of Ministers take in its competence in order to urge Armenia to implement demands and the recommendations of the international organisations and stop operating Metsamor APS as soon as possible.

Signed 1:

PASHAYEVA, Ganira, Azerbaijan, EDG

1     SOC: Socialist Group
       EPP/CD: Group of the European People’s Party
      ALDE: Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe
      EDG: European Democratic Group
      UEL: Group of the Unified European Left
      NR: not registered in a group