Doc. 11122
17 January 2007

The election of committee chairpersons and their term of office

Motion for a resolution
presented by Mr Wodarg and others

This motion has not been discussed in the Assembly and commits only the members who have signed it

1.       According to Rule 45. 1. of the Assembly’s Rules of Procedure the chairperson and the three vice- chairpersons of the general committees are normally elected at the first committee meeting of each ordinary session on the basis of the designations made by the political groups while taking into account the principle of gender equality.

2.       Rule 45.7. stipulates that the chairperson of a committee shall remain in office until the opening of the next ordinary session of the Assembly. He may be re-elected for two further terms, consecutive or not. However, a committee chairperson elected in the course of a session for an incomplete term may be re-elected for three further terms.

3.       The Assembly considers that the latter provision does not reflect the arrangements found among the Assembly’s political groups. In particular it does not correspond to the agreement that committee chairs are distributed to political groups for three years and to the fact that for the chairs of major committees additional arrangements were made with a view to respecting the political balance among the political groups.

4.       To clarify this matter the Assembly decides to replace the second sentence of Rule 45 7.with the following text : “Subject to different arrangements agreed among the political groups of the Assembly, a committee chairperson may be re-elected for two further terms, consecutive or not”.

5.       Furthermore, as agreements among political groups always apply to periods of three years, the Assembly decides to delete the third sentence of Rule 45.7.

6.       The Assembly agrees that these new provisions shall enter into force at the first day of the January 2008 part-session.

Signed 1:

1     SOC: Socialist Group
      EPP/CD: Group of the European People’s Party
      ALDE: Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe
      EDG: European Democratic Group
      UEL: Group of the Unified European Left
      NR: not registered in a group