4 February 1993

Doc. 6764


on the improvement of animal welfare

in Europe

presented by Mr SIPOS and others

      The Assembly,

1.       Satisfied that the Council of Europe has elaborated five conventions on the protection of animals, that is to say:

-       the European Convention for the protection of animals during international transport (Paris 1968);

-       the European Convention for the protection of animals kept for farming purposes (Strasbourg 1976);

-       the European Convention for the protection of animals for slaughter (Strasbourg 1979);

-       the European Convention for the protection of vertebrate animals used for experimental and other scientific purposes (Strasbourg 1986);

-       the European Convention on the protection of pet animals (Strasbourg 1987);

2.       Aware that animal welfare is the subject of detailed legislation in member countries and in the European Community;

3.       Alarmed by reports of grave mishandling of animals which should have been protected by the legislation referred to above;

4.       Concerned that some member countries have not yet signed or ratified these Council of Europe conventions or do not fully apply them;

5.       Believing that the new democracies of Central and Eastern Europe, but also some of the other non-signatory countries, would need assistance and encouragement to reach the standards required by these conventions;

6.       Recommends that the Committee of Ministers take steps:

i.       to ensure the enforcement of the European Conventions bearing on the welfare of animals, in particular by increasing veterinary control measures;

ii.       to assist new members and other non-signatories to acquire the standards required in these legislations;

iii.       to analyse the needs for any improvements in the existing conventions or the need for the drawing up of additional ones;

iv.       to ensure that adequate means, both in budgetary terms and in secretarial staff, are made available for these purposes;

v.       to report back to the Assembly on the Council of Europe's work in this field.


Sipos, Mészaros, Lotz, Szent-Ivanyi, Mackie of Benshie,

Ternak, Kiratlioglu, Särkijärvi, Anttila, Gjørv, Gunnarsson,

Iwinski, Diaz de Mera, Bühler