Doc. 8711
10 April 2000

Colonisation by Turkish settlers of the occupied part of Cyprus

Motion for an order

presented by MM. Demetriou, Christodoulides, Hadjidemetriou and others

This motion has not been discussed in the Assembly and commits only

the members who have signed it

The Assembly,

      Noting that since Mr. Alfons Cuco's report on the demographic structure of the Cypriot communities and the subsequent Recommendation 1197 (1992) adopted by this Assembly, which stated that the demographic composition of Cyprus is being radically altered as a result of the settlement of thousands of foreigners brought in from Turkey, there has been no real action and no follow up on the matter by this Assembly;

      Taking into account the reply by the Committee of Ministers adopted on 22 October 1997, in which the Committee of Ministers referred to the fact that such an artificial change in the demographic structure of the island could only delay the solution of the Cyprus problem, and characterised the situation as "anachronistic";

      Condemning the continuing massive influx of Turkish settlers to the occupied part of the island, whose number is estimated now to be over 120,000 people, a process directed by the Turkish Government which is a major obstacle to the solution of the Cyprus problem and the restoration of peace in the island, as well as a flagrant violation of all international principles and norms; and

      Alarmed by information and statistics from various sources that between 1974 and 1995 almost 50,000 Turkish Cypriots were forced to emigrate from the occupied part of Cyprus, as a result of degrading living conditions and pressure from Turkish colonists who are given undue privileges;

      Instructs its Committee on Migration, Refugees and Demography urgently to examine the present situation created by the massive influx of Turkish settlers in the occupied part of Cyprus and to report back to the Assembly on its findings as soon as possible.

Signed : 1

Demetriou, Cyprus, EPP/CD

Christodoulides, Cyprus, UEL

Hadjidemetriou, Cyprus, SOC

Agius, Malta, EPP/CD

Arnau, Spain, SOC

Bartumeu Cassany, Andorra, SOC

Burataeva, Russia, NR

Cox, United Kingdom, SOC

Cryer, United Kingdom, SOC

Diaz de Mera, Spain, EPP/CD

Einarsson, Sweden, UEL

Err, Luxemburg, SOC

Etherington, United Kingdom, SOC

Flynn, United Kingdom, SOC

Gibula, Poland, SOC

González Laxe, Spain, SOC

Jones, United Kingdom, SOC

Judd, United Kingdom, SOC

Laakso, Finland, UEL

Martelli, Italy, EPP/CD

Martinez Casań, Spain, EPP/CD

McNamara, UK, SOC

Meale, United Kingdom, SOC

Mikaelsson, Sweden, UEL

Myrvoll, Norway, UEL

O'Hara, United Kingdom, SOC

Pinggera, Italy, EPP/CD

Puche, Spain, EPP/CD

de Puig, Spain, SOC

Rapson, United Kingdom, SOC

Risari, Italy, EPP/CD

Robol, Italy, EPP/CD

Soendergaard, Denmark, UEL

Szinyei, Hungary, EPP/CD

Ustiugov, Russia, EPP/CD

Vella, Malta, EPP/CD

Vis, United Kingdom, SOC

Wohlwend, Liechtenstein, EPP/CD

1        SOC: Socialist Group

      EPP/CD: Group of the European People’s Party

      EDG: European Democratic Group

      LDR : Liberal, Democratic and Reformers’ Group

      UEL: Group of the Unified European Left

      NR: not registered in a group