Doc. 9066 2nd edition
14 May 2001

Recognition of the genocide perpetrated against the Azeri population by the Armenians

Written Declaration No. 324

2nd edition, originally tabled on 26 April 2001

This written declaration commits only the members who have signed it

Genocide became an integral part of the Azeri history starting from the partition of the Azeri lands with the treaties of Gulustan in 1813 and Turkmenchay in 1828.

The Armenians carried out massacres against the Azeris in 1905-1907 in order to achieve “the Greater Armenia”.

In March 1918 the Armenians purged the Azeris from Baku, Shamakhy, Guba, Garabakh, Zangezur, Nakhchivan, Lankaran and other regions of Azerbaijan.

With the help of the Soviet regime, Armenia annexed Zangezur and other Azeri lands in 1920.

The Communist regime deported the Azeri population from their historical lands in Armenia to Azerbaijan from 1948-1953.

From the beginning of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict in 1988 hundreds of thousands of Azeris were deported from their historical lands.

On 26 February 1992, Armenians massacred the whole population of Khodjaly and fully destroyed the city.

Armenian separatism in Nagorno-Karabakh and the ongoing Armenian occupation of 20 per cent of the Azeri territory has resulted in thousands of deaths and more than a million refugees.

The undersigned, members of the Assembly, appeal to all the members of the Parliamentary Assembly to take the necessary steps to recognise the genocide perpetrated by the Armenians against the Azeri population from the beginning of the 19th Century.

Signed 1 :

Aliyev İ, Azerbaijan, EDG

Akçalı, Turkey, EDG

Akgönenç, Turkey, EDG

Aliyev G., Azerbaijan, EDG

Begaj, Albania, SOC

Cerrahoğlu, Turkey, EDG

Davis, United Kingdom, SOC

Dokle, Albania, SOC

Glesener, Luxembourg, EPP/CD

Gül, Turkey, EDG

Gülek, Turkey, SOC

Gürkan, Turkey, SOC

Hajiyeva, Azerbaijan, EPP/CD

Huseynov R., Azerbaijan, EPP/CD

İbrahimov, Azerbaijan, UEL

İrtemçelik, Turkey, EDG

Iwınski, Poland, SOC

Kalkan, Turkey, EDG

Loutfi, Bulgaria, LDR

Mutman, Turkey, SOC

Položhani, “the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia”, EDG

Saele, Norway, EPP/CD

Sağlam, Turkey, EPP/CD

Seyidov, Azerbaijan, EDG

Shakhtakhtinskaya, Azerbaijan, EDG

Tanık, Turkey, EDG

Taylor, United Kingdom, EPP/CD

Telek, Turkey, EDG

Vakilov, Azerbaijan, EDG

Jones, United Kingdom, SOC


Total = 30

1        SOC: Socialist Group

      EPP/CD: Group of the European People’s Party

      EDG:European Democratic Group

      LDR : Liberal, Democratic and Reformers’ Group

      UEL : Group of the Unified European Left

      NR : Not registered in a group