Doc. 9344

1 February 2002

Reuse of wastewater in the Mediterranean area

Motion for a recommendation

presented by Mr Adolfo Fernández Aguilar and others

This motion has not been discussed in the Assembly and commits only the members who have signed it

The Mediterranean basin suffers from a structural lack of water resources, due to an uneven distribution of the existing ones, a rainfall pattern badly distributed through the seasons and an increasing demand for water, due to the development of agriculture and tourism.

The Assembly already expressed its concern for this problem and recently adopted Resolution 1222 (2000) on the lack of water resources and agriculture and Recommendation 1471 (2000) on the creation of a hydrotechnical Euro-Mediterranean institute of the Council of Europe.

The Assembly considers that this lack of water resources is a very serious threat for the populations around the Mediterranean basin and for the economies of the riparian countries and that more attention should be given to the issue.

One of the possible solutions to the problem of water scarcity is the use of non-conventional water resources, especially the reuse of wastewater which could contribute to a sustainable development in the Mediterranean area, but also involves health hazards that need to be regulated and controlled. The development of tourism generates an increased risk of the spread of disease and the need to improve wastewater treatment.

To date, there are different standards for reused wastewater, so there is a need for a common regulation, based on the development of trade of agricultural products in Europe and the increasing concern of European consumers about food quality and health hazards.

Therefore, the Assembly recommends to the Governments of Member States

Signed : 1

Fernández Aguilar, Spain, EPP/CD

Agramunt, Spain, EPP/CD

Agudo, Spain, SOC

Aguiar, Portugal, EPP/CD

Arnau, Spain, SOC

Behrendt, Germany, SOC

Castro, Spain, EPP/CD

Cherribi, Pays-Bas, LDR

Ciemniak, Poland, SOC

Cilevics, Latvia, SOC

Clerfayt, Belgium, LDR

Díaz de Mera, Spain, EPP/CD

Dmitrijevas, Lithuania, NR

Esch von der, Sweden, EPP/CD

Floros, Greece, SOC

González de Txabarri, Spain, EPP/CD

Goulet, France, EDG

Graas, Luxembourg, LDR

Guardans, Spain, LDR

Iwínski, Poland, SOC

Jurić, Croatia, LDR

López González, Spain, SOC

Martínez Casañ, Spain, EPP/CD

Meale, United Kingdom, SOC

O'Hara, United Kingdom, SOC

de Puig, Spain, SOC

Schicker, Austria, SOC

Skoularikis, Greece, SOC

Solé Tura, Spain, SOC

Timmermans J, Belgium, SOC

Torrado, Spain, SOC

Velikov, Bulgaria, NR

Wilkinson, United Kingdom, EDG

Wray, United Kingdom, EDG

Yáñez Barnuevo, Spain, SOC

Zierer, Germany, EPP/CD

1        SOC: Socialist Group

      EPP/CD: Group of the European People’s Party

      EDG: European Democratic Group

      LDR : Liberal, Democratic and Reformers’ Group

      UEL: Group of the Unified European Left

      NR: not registered in a group