See related documents

Written declaration No. 471 | Doc. 12509 | 27 May 2011

For a strong and united Europe, for the future of Europe

Signatories: Mr Konstantinos VRETTOS, Greece, SOC ; Mr Pedro AGRAMUNT, Spain, EPP/CD ; Ms Lenka ANDRÝSOVÁ, Czech Republic, ALDE ; Mr Alexandros ATHANASIADIS, Greece, SOC ; Mr Viorel Riceard BADEA, Romania, EPP/CD ; Mr Denis BADRÉ, France, ALDE ; Ms Doris BARNETT, Germany, SOC ; Mr Fernand BODEN, Luxembourg, EPP/CD ; Ms Anne BRASSEUR, Luxembourg, ALDE ; Mr Márton BRAUN, Hungary, EPP/CD ; Mr Georges CHARALAMBOPOULOS, Greece, SOC ; Mr Vannino CHITI, Italy, SOC ; Mr Boriss CILEVIČS, Latvia, SOC ; Ms Ingrida CIRCENE, Latvia, EPP/CD ; Mr Titus CORLĂŢEAN, Romania, SOC ; Mr Telmo CORREIA, Portugal, EDG ; Mr Joseph DEBONO GRECH, Malta, SOC ; Mr Nikolaos DENDIAS, Greece, EPP/CD ; Mr Jim DOBBIN, United Kingdom, SOC ; Ms Josette DURRIEU, France, SOC ; Mr György FRUNDA, Romania, EPP/CD ; Mr Jean-Charles GARDETTO, Monaco, EPP/CD ; Mr Paolo GIARETTA, Italy, ALDE ; Mr Andreas GROSS, Switzerland, SOC ; Ms Annette GROTH, Germany, UEL ; Mr Norbert HAUPERT, Luxembourg, EPP/CD ; Mr Andres HERKEL, Estonia, EPP/CD ; Mr Andrej HUNKO, Germany, UEL ; Ms Sinikka HURSKAINEN, Finland, SOC ; Mr Jean HUSS, Luxembourg, SOC ; Mr Tadeusz IWIŃSKI, Poland, SOC ; Mr Michail KATRINIS, Greece, SOC ; Ms Charoula KEFALIDOU, Greece, SOC ; Mr Haluk KOÇ, Turkey, SOC ; Mr Albrecht KONEČNÝ, Austria, SOC ; Mr Aleksei LOTMAN, Estonia, UEL ; Mr Philippe MAHOUX, Belgium, SOC ; Mr Pietro MARCENARO, Italy, SOC ; Ms Christine MARIN, France, EPP/CD ; Mr Bernard MARQUET, Monaco, ALDE ; Sir Alan MEALE, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr Evangelos MEIMARAKIS, Greece, EPP/CD ; Ms Ana Catarina MENDES, Portugal, SOC ; Mr José MENDES BOTA, Portugal, EPP/CD ; Mr Patrick MORIAU, Belgium, SOC ; Mr João Bosco MOTA AMARAL, Portugal, EPP/CD ; Mr Adrian NĂSTASE, Romania, SOC ; Mr Tudor PANŢIRU, Romania, SOC ; Ms Elsa PAPADIMITRIOU, Greece, EPP/CD ; Mr Dimitrios PAPADIMOULIS, Greece, UEL ; Mr Christos POURGOURIDES, Cyprus, EPP/CD ; Mr Cezar Florin PREDA, Romania, EPP/CD ; Mr John PRESCOTT, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr Lluís Maria de PUIG i OLIVE, Spain ; Ms Maria de Belém ROSEIRA, Portugal, SOC ; Mr Kimmo SASI, Finland, EPP/CD ; Mr Jim SHERIDAN, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr Sérgio SOUSA PINTO, Portugal, SOC ; Ms Melinda SZÉKYNÉ SZTRÉMI, Hungary, EPP/CD ; Lord John E. TOMLINSON, United Kingdom, SOC ; Mr Latchezar TOSHEV, Bulgaria, EPP/CD ; Mr Egidijus VAREIKIS, Lithuania, EPP/CD ; Mr José VERA JARDIM, Portugal, SOC ; Mr Luca VOLONTÈ, Italy, EPP/CD ; Mr Jordi XUCLÀ, Spain, ALDE ; Mr Emanuelis ZINGERIS, Lithuania, EPP/CD

This written declaration commits only those who have signed it.

We welcome the recent initiatives, put forward by European personalities, European parties, trade unions, think tanks and civil society organisations, which once again bring to the forefront the proposal for a reliable economic governance of the European Union and the issuance of euro-bonds.

We believe that, in the framework of this new architecture, euro-bonds can play a key role in surmounting the debt crisis, ensuring the stability of the Euro, and financing the growth of the European economy.

What we ask for is:

  • to create an effective shield for the protection of the euro and the euro area countries as a whole
  • to ensure equal lending terms for the debt level, creating, thus, strong disincentives for Member States to avoid exceeding these thresholds;
  • to boost significantly growth and employment for all European countries;
  • to take a decisive step towards economic and political integration and to restore the trust of European citizens in the future of the euro area and of Europe as a whole;
  • To win the fast moving markets, keeping in mind the “time” coefficient that dictates immediate action.