See related documents

Written declaration No. 515 | Doc. 12915 | 10 July 2012

The progress of democratic reform in the Republic of Moldova

Signatories: Mr Luca VOLONTÈ, Italy, EPP/CD ; Mr Pedro AGRAMUNT, Spain, EPP/CD ; Mr Josep Anton BARDINA PAU, Andorra, ALDE ; Ms Doris BARNETT, Germany, SOC ; Ms Oksana BILOZIR, Ukraine, EPP/CD ; Ms Maryvonne BLONDIN, France, SOC ; Mr Roland BLUM, France, EPP/CD ; Ms Olena BONDARENKO, Ukraine, EPP/CD ; Mr Marek BOROWSKI, Poland, SOC ; Lord Tim BOSWELL, United Kingdom, EDG ; Mr Márton BRAUN, Hungary, EPP/CD ; Ms Ankie BROEKERS-KNOL, Netherlands, ALDE ; Ms Lolita ČIGĀNE, Latvia, EPP/CD ; Mr Boriss CILEVIČS, Latvia, SOC ; Mr Agustín CONDE, Spain, EPP/CD ; Mr Igor CORMAN, Republic of Moldova, SOC ; Mr Paolo CORSINI, Italy, SOC ; Mr Alain COUSIN, France, EPP/CD ; Mr David DARCHIASHVILI, Georgia, EPP/CD ; Mr Arcadio DÍAZ TEJERA, Spain, SOC ; Iva DIMIC, Slovenia, EPP/CD ; Mr Jeffrey DONALDSON, United Kingdom, EDG ; Ms Josette DURRIEU, France, SOC ; Mr Renato FARINA, Italy, EPP/CD ; Mr Bernard FOURNIER, France, EPP/CD ; Mr Hans FRANKEN, Netherlands, EPP/CD ; Mr Martin FRONC, Slovak Republic ; Mr György FRUNDA, Romania, EPP/CD ; Mr Valeriu GHILETCHI, Republic of Moldova, EPP/CD ; Mr Jarosław GÓRCZYŃSKI, Poland, EPP/CD ; Ms Arlette GROSSKOST, France, EPP/CD ; Mr Antonio GUTIÉRREZ, Spain, SOC ; Ms Ana GUŢU, Republic of Moldova, ALDE ; Mr Andrzej HALICKI, Poland, EPP/CD ; Mr Mike HANCOCK, United Kingdom, ALDE ; Kent HÄRSTEDT, Sweden, SOC ; Ms Olha HERASYM'YUK, Ukraine, EPP/CD ; Mr Andres HERKEL, Estonia, EPP/CD ; Mr Tadeusz IWIŃSKI, Poland, SOC ; Mr Antti KAIKKONEN, Finland, ALDE ; Mr Ferenc KALMÁR, Hungary, EPP/CD ; Mr Giorgi KANDELAKI, Georgia, EPP/CD ; Mr Igor KOLMAN, Croatia, ALDE ; Mr Václav KUBATA, Czech Republic, EPP/CD ; Ms Stella KYRIAKIDES, Cyprus, EPP/CD ; Ms Inese LĪBIŅA-EGNERE, Latvia, EPP/CD ; Ms Kerstin LUNDGREN, Sweden, ALDE ; Mr Mikheil MACHAVARIANI, Georgia, EPP/CD ; Mr Pietro MARCENARO, Italy, SOC ; Ms Christine MARIN, France, EPP/CD ; Mr Bernard MARQUET, Monaco, ALDE ; Ms Meritxell MATEU PI, Andorra, ALDE ; Ms Liliane MAURY PASQUIER, Switzerland, SOC ; Mr José MENDES BOTA, Portugal, EPP/CD ; Mr Akaki MINASHVILI, Georgia, EPP/CD ; Mr João Bosco MOTA AMARAL, Portugal, EPP/CD ; Mr Alejandro MUÑOZ-ALONSO, Spain, EPP/CD ; Mr Gebhard NEGELE, Liechtenstein, EPP/CD ; Mr Pasquale NESSA, Italy, EPP/CD ; Ms Mirosława NYKIEL, Poland, EPP/CD ; Mr Joseph O'REILLY, Ireland, EPP/CD ; Ms Liliana PALIHOVICI, Republic of Moldova, EPP/CD ; Ms Elsa PAPADIMITRIOU, Greece, EPP/CD ; Ms Jaana PELKONEN, Finland, EPP/CD ; Mr Johannes PFLUG, Germany, SOC ; Mr John Paul PHELAN, Ireland, EPP/CD ; Mr Oleksiy PLOTNIKOV, Ukraine, SOC ; Mr Ivan POPESCU, Ukraine, SOC ; Ms Marietta de POURBAIX-LUNDIN, Sweden, EPP/CD ; Mr Gabino PUCHE, Spain, EPP/CD ; Mr Volodymyr PYLYPENKO, Ukraine, EPP/CD ; Ms Carmen QUINTANILLA, Spain, EPP/CD ; Ms Elżbieta RADZISZEWSKA, Poland, EPP/CD ; Mr Paul-Eerik RUMMO, Estonia, ALDE ; Mr Aleksandrs SAKOVSKIS, Latvia, SOC ; Mr Leander SCHÄDLER, Liechtenstein, EPP/CD ; Mr Stefan SCHENNACH, Austria, SOC ; Ms Elisabeth SCHNEIDER-SCHNEITER, Switzerland, EPP/CD ; Ms Ingjerd SCHOU, Norway, EPP/CD ; Mr Serhiy SOBOLEV, Ukraine, EPP/CD ; Romana TOMC, Slovenia, EPP/CD ; Mr Latchezar TOSHEV, Bulgaria, EPP/CD ; Mr Petré TSISKARISHVILI, Georgia, EPP/CD ; Mr Egidijus VAREIKIS, Lithuania, EPP/CD ; Mr Imre VEJKEY, Hungary, EPP/CD ; Mr Stefaan VERCAMER, Belgium, EPP/CD ; Ms Anne-Mari VIROLAINEN, Finland, EPP/CD ; Mr Jordi XUCLÀ, Spain, ALDE ; Mr Emanuelis ZINGERIS, Lithuania, EPP/CD

This written declaration commits only those who have signed it.

We welcome the commitment of the authorities of the Republic of Moldova and the results attained in implementing the ambitious democratic reform agenda, including with regard to media freedom.

We also welcome the maturity demonstrated by political leaders on the occasion of the presidential election in March 2012. After 917 days without an elected President, the country now has the much-needed political stability vital for the successful implementation of the reforms.

This is the crucial moment for making further progress with the democratic reforms. We therefore encourage the authorities to continue implementing the changes necessary to ensure compliance with the core values of the Council of Europe and, in particular, to promote the reform of the justice, education and social systems.

Reaffirming our support for the sovereignty and territorial integrity of the Republic of Moldova, we also support the Moldovan authorities in their efforts to continue the dialogue and build trust between Chisinau and Tiraspol, which is a very important step for a peaceful settlement of the Transnistrian conflict.

We call on all the political forces to show political will and to engage in constructive dialogue via existing legal means, for the benefit of all citizens of the Republic of Moldova.